Lord of the Rings LCG 4 Player Game Actions

Discussion in 'Games Run By CPA Members' started by Spiderman, Sep 10, 2012.

  1. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    I have Gimli and Legolas available.

    Combat sounds automatic once we assign our guys, so what do we need to do now?
  2. boogiepop Member

    Well, it just matters as to who does and doesn't get exhausted, particularly in rokapoke's case since he has a lot of guys with abilities.

    A single Gondorian Spearman can deal lethal damage to the Dol Guldur Orcs, as you mentioned.

    Legolas and Glorfindel have a combined attack power of 8. 10 is needed to finish the Spawn off. You want to add that Riversong guy to the attack, am I correct, rokapoke? His attack of 1 with the For Gondor! bonus would be enough.
  3. rokapoke Man Among Gods

    Agreed. With the ranged assistance from Legolas, Glorfindel and Henamarth Riversong will take out Ungoliant's Spawn.
  4. boogiepop Member

    Okay, all that's left is for characters to take any final actions before untapping, like Gleowine can.
    I'll raise our threat by one and ready everyone.

    Once all this is done, then we can start the next round.

    Oh! Before all of the this, draw a card per our location. Legolas added the final 2 progress points on.

    Current Location: Mountains of Mirkwood


    Type: Location
    Threat: 2 Quest Points: 1/3
    Forest. Mountain.
    Travel: Reveal the top card of the encounter deck and add it to the staging area to travel here.
    Response: After Mountains of Mirkwood leaves play as an explored location, each player may search the top 5 cards of his deck for 1 card and add it to his hand. Shuffle the rest of the searched cards back into their owners' decks.
  5. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Drew my card.
  6. turgy22 Nothing Special

    As did I.
  7. rokapoke Man Among Gods

    I drew mine, too.
  8. boogiepop Member

    Okay, Spiderman's the first player who can play attachments and whatnot.
    I gave (or will give in a moment) us all our resource points.

    Who is Gleowine giving the extra card to? Has everyone also drawn their card for the new turn?
  9. rokapoke Man Among Gods

    At this point, I have absolutely no idea how many cards I should have drawn (total) from my deck. Anybody know?

    I am definitely still floundering here.
  10. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    This is only the second turn, so you should have drawn at least two cards. Not sure if you drew any extra from abilities or something.

    I don't have any attachments or whatnot to play right now :)
  11. boogiepop Member

    Off the top of my head, you drew 6 to start, 2 for the beginning of each of the turns we've completed, 1 from Gleowine last turn, 1 from the Location we just explored and now you should draw another to start the next turn.

    So counting the beginning of this turn, you should have had a total of 11 cards. Gleowine never used his action at the end of last turn though, so if you want to draw an extra, I'd go ahead and do so. (Just tell me so I can put it on the main page.)
  12. rokapoke Man Among Gods

    Right. I won't draw any extra cards, since I now have 7 in hand after drawing my 11th total card.

    No extra card for me. Drawing my 11th total card gives me 7 in hand.
  13. boogiepop Member

    Okay, so that gets us back to playing attachments and allies. Spiderman? You're up first as I recall.
  14. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Remove a res from each of my guys to play Horseback Archer. That's it for me.

    (U) Horseback Archer
    Type: Ally//Sphere: Tactics //Cost: 3
    Willpower: 0 Attack: 2 Defense: 1 Hit Points: 2//Rohan. Archer.//Ranged
  15. turgy22 Nothing Special

    I'm going to take one resource each from Dunhere and Eowyn to play The Favor of the Lady (Attach to a hero. Attached hero gains +1 Willpower) on Eowyn.
  16. rokapoke Man Among Gods

    I will pay 1 resource from each of my heroes to play Daughter of the Nimrodel, and an additional 1 from Glorfindel to play Protector of Lorien on Eowyn (can anybody use that ability, or only Turgy22? Either way, I can keep his hand full as required).

    Daughter of the Nimrodel //Type: Ally Sphere: Lore //Cost: 3 //Willpower: 1 Attack: 0 Defense: 0 Hit Points: 1 //Silvan. //Action: Exhaust Daughter of the Nimrodel to heal up to 2 damage on any 1 hero.

    Protector of Lorien //Type: Attachment Sphere: Lore //Cost: 1 //Title. //Attach to a hero.//Action: Discard a card from your hand to give attached hero +1 Defense or +1 Willpower until the end of the phase.
  17. boogiepop Member

    Okay, and I'll stand pat this round.
    I'm questing with everyone and using the Aragorn combo to keep him readied.

    Almost forgot... rokapoke, that's a good question. I think it's the player that controls the attachment that discards, but I will check up on that just in case. I know in the FAQ it states that there's a 3 card limit per phase or round. Beravor's ability is also mentioned in the FAQ. She's supposed to have a once per round limit on her ability.

    I should probably just add this info to the cards since this i all text-based anyway.
  18. turgy22 Nothing Special

    I will commit Eowyn and Lorien Tracker to the quest.
  19. rokapoke Man Among Gods

    Boogiepop, are you sure that Steward of Gondor is the card that would tap to add the resources? I think it might mean that the hero is intended to tap for that ability...

    Also, I will commit Henamarth Riversong and Gleowine to the quest.
  20. boogiepop Member

    Yeah, I'm positive about the Steward. That particular question about that particular card is often asked on boardgamegeek. It's probably the only card I'd consider broken.

    If you look at the turn order chart though, player actions come after the playing of attachments and allies (per each player.) It's another little confusing thing that I'm not 100% clear on. (I wish the rules were written better.) Anyway, I personally play it that you can't play actions like Steward's tapping ability until after you've finished playing your allies and attachments. (Obviously, that need not apply to you.) It seems only rational to me since it gives the Steward at least one negative instead of it being all gravy from turn 1.

    I'll try to get a definitive answer to these questions.

    Also, as soon as we hear from Spidey, I'll start revealing the next batch of cards from the encounter deck.

    EDIT: From the rulebook: "Actions are always optional, and can be triggered by their controller during any action window in the game sequence."
    So Protector of Lorien would requite turgy to discard cards. Eowyn's ability seems to be the exception to the rule.

    EDIT: There's a player action window prior to the Planning phase. This means that you can have those 2 extra resource points prior to playing attachments and allies. Man that card is nutty.

Share This Page