Call for Second Singleton Ultimate Draft

Discussion in 'Games Run By CPA Members' started by Spiderman, Apr 9, 2008.

  1. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    I almost took it again, but I never really used it in the deck I made and not sure if I'll use it in the deck this time either.
  2. Melkor Active Member

    Why wouldn't I want Ransac to make his previous deck, I have every confidence that my deck from the previous draft would have trounced it.
  3. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    :D

    While yours is the only deck I truly feared (Oversoul's give me the jibblies), I doubt that it would've been "trounced." You underestimate my ability to draw out a game long enough for me to find an answer. ;)

    Ransac, cpa trash man
  4. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Whew, good thing I got when I did then :)
  5. Modus Pwnens Eligible for User Title

    Phew, glad to see dark ritual and mind twist ending up at a different person :D
  6. Melkor Active Member

    That's not the card I'm worried about someone pairing with Dark Ritual
  7. Budget Player Cadet Where in the world is BPC

    I suppose I'm going to be the only one who wants LED?
  8. Modus Pwnens Eligible for User Title

    It's not gonna be my next pick, that's for sure ;)
  9. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    Who's gonna take Dwarven Pony next?


    Ransac, cpa trash man
  10. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    I would have thought YOU.
  11. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    Excuse me for being ignorant...... what's LED?


    Ransac, cpa trash man
  12. Modus Pwnens Eligible for User Title

    Lion's Eye Diamond. Silly.
  13. Modus Pwnens Eligible for User Title

    Just wondering, what are you stances about talking about other people picks/strats etc.

    For example, if I didn't want someone to end up with a certain card, can i "mention" it, hoping that someone else gets it?

    There's nothing specific yet, but it might occur later in the draft, so I was simply curious. What were the rules on this subject in the previous draft?
  14. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    I figure talking about it is okay. Whether someone actually does it is another matter :)
  15. turgy22 Nothing Special

    I'm not sure how I feel about this. On the one hand, it seems sort of mean-spirited to me, like hate-drafting. Only instead of grabbing a card that you're not going to use, you try to pass it off on someone else who you don't think will use it as well. So it's sort of insulting to one player and spiteful towards another.

    But on the other hand, I don't really see any point to having a rule against it. I think we're all smart enough to realize if someone is trying to trick us. And if the point is simply to expose someone's plan, then each person is going to have to weigh the merits of handicapping their own decks for the purpose of damaging someone else's.

    In short, I'd say that if you don't want someone to get a card, the best choice is to take it yourself.
  16. Mooseman Isengar Tussle

    I don't care one way or another..... Trash talk away.... no one can possibly figure out my plan..... not even me.....
    But if you do see a good combo for me, please speak up and maybe I'll take it.... you all do realize that pointing out certain cards/stats could backfire on you....
  17. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    I think that openly commenting about other player's drafts so far is fine. I mean, eventually, everyone's strategies will be obvious and we can make our own opinions about what to get.

    Plus, whether or not someone gets off one combo won't make or break a deck. Given the fact that we're essentially playing a highlander format, building a deck around 2-3 cards would be very weak.... unless you build your deck like Oversoul built his.


    BE THAT AS IT MAY, I believe that one of the cards that Modus is going to be gunning for is also very high on my list of next picks.


    Ransac, cpa trash man
  18. Modus Pwnens Eligible for User Title

    Then it's quite unfortunate that I'm most likely picking it next :D
  19. turgy22 Nothing Special

    Unless Melkor picks it first.
  20. turgy22 Nothing Special

    So, Ransac, was Crucible of Worlds the card you were gunning for? Or is your choice still on the board?

Share This Page