The "Let's Design a Set Together" Game

Discussion in 'Home Made Cards' started by turgy22, Mar 22, 2006.

  1. Limited Yes, but we won't care

    Approved.. just a bit of wording:

    Fluttering Butterflies
    GB
    Creature - Butterfly
    Flying
    Prevent all combat damage attacking creatures would deal to <THIS>.
    Whenever <THIS> blocks, lose life equal to <THIS>'s power.
    2/2
    Common

    Are we trying to make a card to go along Valor Made Real?
  2. Mooseman Isengar Tussle

    Good wording.... Ha Ha, never thought of that card.........
    Maybe add, "Whenever <THIS> blocks a creature, lose life equal to <THIS>'s power." I think this will trigger for each creature it blocks.
  3. Limited Yes, but we won't care

    I still a bit unclear that way.. if we really wanted to fix it, we could make it
    "For each creature <THIS> is assigned to block, you lose life equal to <THIS>'s power" but I don't think that its really necessary.

    (Would this card be a combo or a nonbo with Yare?)
  4. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    I don't think that'll be a problem, unless you have a spell that lets them block multiple creatures.

    I don't think it needs "blocks a creature...". Just "blocks" is enough for me.


    And I still think "Fluttering Butterflies" is an odd name for a GB creature, but it's still in development stage. :D


    Ransac, cpa trash man
  5. Mooseman Isengar Tussle

    New card.

    No Name yet
    1B
    Enchantment
    When an opponent plays a spell, sacrifice <THIS>. If you do, then each opponent discards three cards.

    OR

    When an opponent plays a spell, sacrifice <THIS>. If you do, then each opponent puts the top three cards from their library into their graveyard.


    Very mutli-playerish.......
  6. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    If you want it to be black, use the first ability. If you want it to be blue, then use the second.

    I like it. It reminds me of Standstill..... which I imagine was an inspiration for it. :D


    Ransac, cpa trash man
  7. Mooseman Isengar Tussle

    Yep... I even took the wording right form it....
    I like the first one, so that's the one to use
  8. Limited Yes, but we won't care

    Abashing Orb 1B
    Enchantment
    When an opponent plays a spell, sacrifice <THIS>. If you do, then each opponent discards three cards.

    Sound about right?
  9. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    Sounds good to me!


    Ransac, cpa trash man
  10. Mooseman Isengar Tussle

    That's it.


    But, I wanted my opponents in multiplayer games to fight over who cast the last spell on the stack after this in in play. I wanted it to be "each other opponent"
    But that wouldn't work in a 1-on-1 game at all...... :(

    Maybe something like "then that player chooses one of your opponents, that opponent discards three cards"
  11. Limited Yes, but we won't care

    In a two-player game, that would still be your opponent. He'd have to pick himself.

    It just dawned on me how good this card actually is. Two mana to let all your opponents discard three cards? Maybe it should just be
    "When an opponent plays a spell ... each player discards three cards".

    Perhaps it should only trigger on creature spells too
    "When an opponent plays a creature spell ... each player discards three cards".
  12. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    OR, instead of "plays a spell", it could be "When a spells resolves, sacrifice <this> and each opponent of that spell's controller discards three cards."

    It sounds complicated, but it fits the original intention.


    Ransac, cpa trash man
  13. Mooseman Isengar Tussle

    It would work just like Standstill, except just on your opponents.
    This is only a one shot discard, once it's sac'd no one has to discard again.
    So, last spell on the stack would be the opponent who gets to choose.

    Abashing Orb 1B
    Enchantment
    When an opponent plays a spell, sacrifice <THIS>. If you do, then that player chooses one of your opponents, that opponent discards three cards.

    2cc is good since you don't get to choose who discards. It helps you smack your opponents, but you won't take the heat....... Multiplayer politics.....
  14. Ransac CPA Trash Man


    Playing a spell is merely putting it on the stack. In multliplayer, the first person to attempt something gets to pick the target. In order to have your intention it needs to be the "When a spells resolves, ..." that I suggested.


    Ransac, cpa trash man
  15. Mooseman Isengar Tussle

    NO. Just like standstill, each time a spell is put on the stack, it triggers Standstill. Only the First time the trigger resolves, do you sac standstill, all the other triggers would have no effect when they resolve.....

    Example with Standstill in play:

    Opponent 1 casts Carnophage
    Opponent 2 casts counterspell
    Opponent 1 casts Daze
    Opponent 3 casts Enlightened Tutor
    All players pass priority

    The stack would look like this: (Last to first)
    Trigger for standstill (opponent 3 chooses)
    Enlightened Tutor
    Trigger for standstill (opponent 1 chooses)
    Daze
    Trigger for standstill (opponent 2 chooses)
    counterspell
    Trigger for standstill (opponent 1 chooses)
    Carnophage

    Trigger for standstill (opponent 3 chooses) resolves and standstill is sac'd
    opponent 3 doesn't draw cards
    tutor resolves
    Trigger for standstill (opponent 1 chooses) resolves, but standstill is not in play to be sac'd so ono one draws....

    rinse, repeat.......
  16. Limited Yes, but we won't care

    In multiplayer, this is fun. But one on one, it would translate to this:
    "When an opponent plays a spell, sacrifice <THIS>. If you do, that opponent discards three cards."
    because he is the only player who is your opponent.

    And then 1B would not be nearly enough.
  17. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    Unless THIS has been changed too, which I don't think so, whenever a spell is played and is put on the stack, it would activate the Standstill. That's the whole point of Standstill. You play it and no one wants to play anything. I've seen this literally dozens of times in past AND recent tourneys.

    The FIRST player to put something on the stack triggers the Standstill, not the first to resolve. I played that card in several decks and played it today.

    Ransac, cpa trash man
  18. Mooseman Isengar Tussle

    yes, but so does all other spells that go on the stack, until a trigger resolves does the standstill get sac'd. When a spell hits the stack, the standstill will trigger, but doesnot resolve until all players pass priority. Thus if multiple spells are put on the stack before anything resolves, it's the las spell's trigger that resolves. The only time the first spell's trigger willresolve (and sac standstill) is if all players pass priority and allow the only trigger to resolve. I had to rule on this many times when it first came out.

    Example 1
    Player A plays Wall of hope
    Standstill triggers goes on the stack
    All players pass priority
    Standstill trigger resolves, standstill is sac'd and all players not Player A draw cards.
    All players pass priority
    Wall of Hope resolves.
    Stack is now empty

    Example 2
    Player A plays Wall of hope
    Standstill triggers goes on the stack (player A's spell)
    Player B casts Counterspell
    Standstill triggers goes on the stack (Player B's spell)
    All players pass priority
    Standstill trigger resolves, standstill is sac'd and all players not Player B draw cards.
    All players pass priority
    Counter spell resolves, countering Wall of Hope
    All players pass priority
    Standstill trigger resolves, but ther is no standstill to sac, thus no one draws cards.
    Stack is now empty


    The key is when players pass priority and let something resolve off the stack.
    Player B could have let the standstill trigger for Player A resolve, drawn the cards for it and then cast counterspell before Wall of Hope resolved.

    Does this make sense to you or am I being confusing?
  19. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    But doesn't it sacrifice as part of it triggering?


    Ransac, cpa trash man
  20. Mooseman Isengar Tussle

    No, only on resolution of the trigger (the first time it resolves)
    Remember, it's a triggered ability.

Share This Page