Shadowmoor Previews

Discussion in 'General CPA Stuff' started by Spiderman, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. Budget Player Cadet Where in the world is BPC

    Not just the redeemed, believe me.
  2. turgy22 Nothing Special

    I'll have to agree with Melkor on this one. Rhys the Redeemed seems really not that good. He could do some damage in limited and I could see having some fun with him in a casual game, but he's too slow, inefficient and narrow to make much of a mark anywhere else. Doubling your tokens for 6 mana is not a powerful effect. Just compare the card to Imperious Perfect, which comes in at uncommon and is SO much better, IMO.

    On the other hand, Rosewater's card seems like a legitimate bomb. A 4/4 flyer that guarantees its status as the biggest creature on the board? Sounds pretty good to me. However, it's highly restrictive casting cost will make it hard to get out in limited and I really can't judge constructed formats, so it might not even be that good. After all, it does still die to Terror, Deathmark, and any number of other removal spells. So it's definitely not blow-you-away powerful. For all I know, it might only be useful as a sideboard card against beatdown decks.

    And the third preview card, which I've attached, also doesn't really amaze me. It's basically a 4/4 artifact creature for 7 mana that allows you to distribute three -1/-1 counters when it comes into play. It'll probably be decent as a late-game limited card, but it won't sniff a competitive deck.

    Attached Files:

  3. Budget Player Cadet Where in the world is BPC

    So, judging from reactions, certain people aren't happy about the prieviews (the only ones I liked were the two demigods), are you still going to do one of the following:
    *Buy a buttload of shadowmoor
    *Go to the prerelease
    *Go to the launch party?
  4. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Man, these are only a handful of cards so far, and these previews are just supposed to show off what the expansion offers, not necessarily the "best" cards of the set and all. If I had money and time, I'd still buy Shadowmoor (along with past expansions) and go to the prerelease...
  5. Killer Joe Active Member

    I'll be at the pre-release working the tables. :)
  6. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Attached Files:

  7. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Site Preview card for Tuesday 4/1

    Attached Files:

  8. Modus Pwnens Eligible for User Title

    I'll be judging at the prerelease, and probably play in the instore release the week after. Then the drafting begins :D
  9. Budget Player Cadet Where in the world is BPC

    I'll be playing the prerelease. I have 25 euros saved up for the occasion.
  10. Mooseman Isengar Tussle

    Don't rub it in....
    how much is that in real money...... :D
  11. Modus Pwnens Eligible for User Title

    Given the current exchange rates, it's about 300 of those silly American dollars :D
  12. Mooseman Isengar Tussle

    300!!!!!! on a pre-release? That's insane..... Actually it's about $39.00 with a conversion rate of 1.5806, which is way better..... so what does that get you at a pre-release?

    Let's hope we have tables at this new place.......
  13. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Attached Files:

  14. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Site Preview card for 4/2

    Attached Files:

  15. Budget Player Cadet Where in the world is BPC

    Sick. First it's a beater, then it's a card draw engine!
    Oh, and that card that lets you draw two for each card you draw... Breakable?
  16. Modus Pwnens Eligible for User Title

    Not really, it's only you, so you'll just draw a lot more, which is your only advantage (making it a reasonable card, but due to the high cost not exceptional).
  17. Budget Player Cadet Where in the world is BPC

    No, you deck yourself. 'Whenever you would draw a card, draw two cards instead' means that you keep drawing until something happens or you lose.
  18. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    No, the replacement effect only happens once per draw, it doesn't loop.
  19. Budget Player Cadet Where in the world is BPC

    ????? I don't get that at all.
  20. Rakarth New Member

    I think it would be that if you were told to draw a card, as your are in your draw step, instead of drawing a single card, you draw two cards. This is the ability resolving. That's it, it doesn't say if you would draw a card, draw another after which I think would cause you to deck yourself because it states draw.

    However this is as Spidey says, a replacement effect, so instead of drawing one you draw two. No more no less :) think of it as changing the rules text to draw two cards as opposed to draw a card.

    Rakarth

Share This Page