confirmed Torment cards

Discussion in 'General CPA Stuff' started by Lotus Mox, Dec 10, 2001.

  1. rakso New Member

    Question.

    When you pay a cost that requires a discard, I'm sure you CAN'T still use Madness on it, right?
  2. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    That depends on how the madness ability is worded.

    If it's worded as a replacement, then that is correct.
    But if it's just a cost to play with a rules modification allowing you to play it when it's discarded, then you would be able to do that.
  3. Gizmo Composite: 1860

    The general assumption was that you could.
  4. Istanbul Sucker MCs call me sire.

    I assumed that you could, as the rules text didn't say anything about 'if forced to discard by your opponent'. If it IS only when forced to discard by an opponent, cards like Wild Mongrel will stay good, instead of becoming amazing.
  5. FoundationOfRancor The Gunslinger

    If you can activate madness with any discard, then it will just magnify the worth of every card in Odyssey. Which is a good thing, I beleive.
  6. Thallid Ice Cream Man 21sT CeNTuRy sChIZoId MaN

    It would also make Library of Leng weird...
  7. Azreal the Soulmaster Sorrow's Rhapsody

    I just finished reading the torment novel, and Chainer makes a notice to a vampire in the pits as being a Sengir Vampire. Chainer then goes on to explain the myth of the Sengir to Kamahl. So it seems very probable that the sengir could make a comeback in torment. Regarding Chainer, the second version of him that Lotus Mox posted is more in tune with the abilities of Chainer in the novel.
  8. FoundationOfRancor The Gunslinger

    From rancored_elf over at mtgnews.

    name? - WW
    Instant
    As an additional cost to play ~, discard X cards from your hand.
    Remove X target attacking creatures from the game.

    name? - RR
    Instant or Sorcery
    As an additional cost to play ~, discard X cards from your hand.
    ~ deals X damage to each creature and player.

    name? - GG
    Sorcery
    As an additional cost to play ~, discard X cards from your hand.
    Return X target cards from your graveyard to your hand. Remove ~ from the game.

    name? - UU
    Instant or Sorcery
    As an additional cost to play ~, discard X cards from your hand.
    Return X target creatures to owner's hands.
  9. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    Chainer's Edict
    1B
    Sorcery <==:(

    Target player sacrifices a creature.
    Flashback 5BB

    Found at brainburst.com
  10. Daggertooth The Rune Master

    CT that card was also posted in sideboard with a huge rant about how great and versitile it is.

    Quite frankly I don't think it's that great. Sure another way to get rid of irridesant Angel in limmited is something to be admired, but other than that I'd stick it in the common box with my Diabolic Edict.

    Daggertooth
    (Anyone else not able to get into mtgnews today?)
  11. rakso New Member

    Um... Diabolic Edict is one of the top spot removal cards in black.

    This one, being a sorcery that you might actually get to tap out for in the late game, is an inflexible variant that doesn't even do anything to Ball Lightning. :)
  12. theorgg Slob

    In Type ][][, it may see play, but in extended, the instant-speed counterpart is much better.

    I also haven't been able to access mtgnews.com today, either...

    Hopfully this isn't their "goodbye"
  13. Purple_jester New Member

    Long time no post. Yeah, I know.

    ISTY, Faceless Butcher can't remove Faceless Butchers from play. It's in the text. It can go solo if it wants to.

    Regarding the vampire debate, I've seen the art on the net, and I was labelled Sengir Vampire. Plus there are at least 2 spoiler lists saying that the vampire is back. However, like Serra, it's coming back as a rare. (Like I care, having 4 Revised versions anyway)

    I hope that shade is common, or at least uncommon. My mono-black has been needing new blood for the longest time. All in all, this set really shakes up the environment. A dark shadow across the sparkling sea of multi-colors. ;)
  14. rakso New Member

    I think the Sengir Vampire card is already up on the Wizards site. :)
  15. EricBess Active Member

    It is. Go to the artical about the card art and click on the final image.
  16. Lotus Mox New Member

    View it here!

    it's Laquatus's Champion!
  17. Istanbul Sucker MCs call me sire.

    DUDE!

    Da Champ is the prerelease rare?!
    Thus far, from what I've seen, it's the chase rare!

Share This Page