Planar Chaos Preview Cards

Discussion in 'General CPA Stuff' started by Spiderman, Jan 8, 2007.

  1. Limited Yes, but we won't care

    Problem is that Phyrexian Dreadnought has been errated; its ability now reads "If it would come into play" which isn't a CIP but more something along the line of a "As comes into play" rule.

    I'm not sure which rule does apply though..

    Oh, and if you have a Dreadnought on the table, you don't need to copy it ;)

    (PS: Phyrexian Dreadnought and Dimir Doppelganger)
  2. Mooseman Isengar Tussle

    What other rule are you refering to?
    This rule applies fairly well to the question, the errata didn't change that, it only reinforced it.

    Maybe I'm getting confused here, but where is the problem?
  3. Oversoul The Tentacled One

    True.
  4. EricBess Active Member

    Mooseman - I was just trying to use wording that had already been expressed. But yes, that is the relevant ruling and Shapeshifters will not get around the Dreadnaught.

    Limited - The rule Mooseman stated handles both CIP and "as this comes into play" abilities. The example in the ruling should make it fairly clear.

    Consider Spike Feeder. It comes into play with 2 counters. All of that is "as it comes into play" stuff. If Spike Feeder's ability were triggered, it would die as a state based effect.

    In terms of the Dopelganger, CIP and "Comes into play" abilities only matter when it actually comes into play. I believe the change ability triggers at the beginning of upkeep, so if it changes, it is too late for a "beginning of upkeep" trigger for whatever you copied to also trigger. However, if whatever it is currently copying has a beginning of upkeep trigger, both it and the Dopelganger's change ability will be applied, even if you change to something else.
  5. Oversoul The Tentacled One

    Volrath's Shapeshifter has been used for that purpose for quite some time now.
  6. Limited Yes, but we won't care

    The problem is that I can't read. :p
  7. Mooseman Isengar Tussle

    Join the club, I've done that more than once....... :eek:
  8. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Attached Files:

  9. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    It loses a lot by being in Green. I don't think it'll see much play in the current environment.


    Ransac, cpa trash man
  10. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    It'll sure be tempting though, to try to use a creature version of the Library of Alexandria...
  11. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    Perhaps, but I doubt it'll be useful, with green having the potential to have 4 cards or less in hand after turn two.

    Ransac, cpa trash man
  12. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Yeah, but there's always cards to fill yer hand up, if not in Standard, then other environments.
  13. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    Of course, like Sylvan Library and the like. But, still. It's double required (GG) and I don't like it.

    Ransac, cpa trash man
  14. Melkor Active Member

    I don't know, you'd just have to make a different sort of deck with it. The first card that jumps to mind to use with it is Life from the Loam.
  15. DarthFerret Evil Sith Weasel

    I am in LOVE with that critter!!!! I want 4 in my green decks!!!! Green is one of the hardest colors for me to get card draw out of....wooo hooo!!!!!
  16. Nightstalkers Creature — Nightstalker

    I want one....
  17. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Yesterday 1/15 card

    Attached Files:

  18. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Attached Files:

  19. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Attached Files:

  20. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    Torchling = Ransac is Happy. :D


    Ransac, cpa trash man

Share This Page