Chaos Pure and Simple-Invite only

  • Thread starter Budget Player Cadet
  • Start date

Ransac

CPA Trash Man
Lemme fix it. The lands were right, but my hand didn't need to be fixed (Remand lets me draw 1 card), my library needed to be.

Rokapoke: 27
Hand: 7
Library: 46
In play:

(TTTTTUUU) Plains x8

Soulcatcher's Aerie (Whenever a Bird is put into your graveyard from play, put a feather counter on ~. All birds get +1/+1 for each feather counter on ~.) Two feather counters

(S) Bird token (3/3)
(S) Bird token (3/3)

Graveyard: Battle Screech
RFG:
-------------------------------------------------
Spiderman: 25
Hand: 6
Library: 44
In play:

(T,T) Scrubland (B/W dual) x2
(T) Bayou (B/G dual)
(U) Savannah (G/W dual)
(T,T) Swamp x2
(T) Nantucko Monastery (T: Add 1 to my mana pool. Threshold - GW: ~ becomes a 4/4 green and white creature with first strike ueot. It's still a land)
(T) Treetop Village (T: Add G to my mana pool. 1G: ~ becomes a 3/3 green Ape creature with trample ueot. It's still a land)

Pernicious Deed (X, Sac ~: Destroy each artifact, creature, and enchantment with converted mana cost X or less)

Graveyard: Vindicate
RFG:
-------------------------------------------------
Ransac: 27
Hand: 4
Library: 39
In play:

(U) Faerie Conclave (Faerie Conclave comes into play tapped. T: Add Blue Mana to your mana pool. 1U: Faerie Conclave becomes a 2/1 blue Faerie creature with flying until end of turn. It's still a land.)
(TU) Savannah (G/W)
(TTT) Tundra (U/W)
(TTU) Tropical Island (G/U)
(T) Island
(U) Mishra's Factory (T: Add 1 to your mana pool. 1: Mishra's Factory becomes a 2/2 Assembly-Worker artifact creature until end of turn. It's still a land. T: Target Assembly-Worker creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)

Rhystic Study (Whenever an opponent plays a spell, you may draw a card unless that player pays 1)

(T) Winged Sliver (3/3, All slivers have flying.)
(T) Gemhide Sliver (3/3, All slivers have "T: add one mana of any color to your mana pool.")
(T) Crystalline Sliver (4/4, All slivers have shroud)
(S) Might Sliver (4/4, all slivers gain +2/+2)

Graveyard: Remand
RFG: Time Spiral
-------------------------------------------------
Rakarth: 7
Hand: 7
Library: 44
In play:

(U,U,U,T,T) Islandx5
(U,U,T) Plainsx3


Graveyard: Drift Of Phantasms
RFG:
-------------------------------------------------
Modus Pwnens: 53 (50?)
Hand: 6
Library: 46
In play:

(T, T, T) Forest
(T, T) Mountain

Graveyard: Forgotten Ancient
RFG: Seize the Day, Kavu Predator
-------------------------------------------------
Mooseman: 19
Hand: 6
Library: 45
In play:

(TTTUUUUU) Island x8

(S) Morph Guy (2/2)

Graveyard:
RFG:


Ransac, cpa trash man
 
R

Rakarth

Guest
Untap, Upkeep, Draw

Plains and before I play anything, does shroud only affect cards that have the word target in them? As in "Return target creature..."? So playing a card without the word target in it would be ok or is it assumed that if it is played on a permanent with shroud then it's essentially targeted?

Rokapoke: 27
Hand: 7
Library: 46
In play:

(TTTTTUUU) Plains x8

Soulcatcher's Aerie (Whenever a Bird is put into your graveyard from play, put a feather counter on ~. All birds get +1/+1 for each feather counter on ~.) Two feather counters

(S) Bird token (3/3)
(S) Bird token (3/3)

Graveyard: Battle Screech
RFG:
-------------------------------------------------
Spiderman: 25
Hand: 6
Library: 44
In play:

(T,T) Scrubland (B/W dual) x2
(T) Bayou (B/G dual)
(U) Savannah (G/W dual)
(T,T) Swamp x2
(T) Nantucko Monastery (T: Add 1 to my mana pool. Threshold - GW: ~ becomes a 4/4 green and white creature with first strike ueot. It's still a land)
(T) Treetop Village (T: Add G to my mana pool. 1G: ~ becomes a 3/3 green Ape creature with trample ueot. It's still a land)

Pernicious Deed (X, Sac ~: Destroy each artifact, creature, and enchantment with converted mana cost X or less)

Graveyard: Vindicate
RFG:
-------------------------------------------------
Ransac: 27
Hand: 4
Library: 39
In play:

(U) Faerie Conclave (Faerie Conclave comes into play tapped. T: Add Blue Mana to your mana pool. 1U: Faerie Conclave becomes a 2/1 blue Faerie creature with flying until end of turn. It's still a land.)
(TU) Savannah (G/W)
(TTT) Tundra (U/W)
(TTU) Tropical Island (G/U)
(T) Island
(U) Mishra's Factory (T: Add 1 to your mana pool. 1: Mishra's Factory becomes a 2/2 Assembly-Worker artifact creature until end of turn. It's still a land. T: Target Assembly-Worker creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)

Rhystic Study (Whenever an opponent plays a spell, you may draw a card unless that player pays 1)

(T) Winged Sliver (3/3, All slivers have flying.)
(T) Gemhide Sliver (3/3, All slivers have "T: add one mana of any color to your mana pool.")
(T) Crystalline Sliver (4/4, All slivers have shroud)
(S) Might Sliver (4/4, all slivers gain +2/+2)

Graveyard: Remand
RFG: Time Spiral
-------------------------------------------------
Rakarth: 7
Hand: 8
Library: 43
In play:

(U,U,U,U,U) Islandx5
(U,U,U,U) Plainsx4


Graveyard: Drift Of Phantasms
RFG:
-------------------------------------------------
Modus Pwnens: 53 (50?)
Hand: 6
Library: 46
In play:

(T, T, T) Forest
(T, T) Mountain

Graveyard: Forgotten Ancient
RFG: Seize the Day, Kavu Predator
-------------------------------------------------
Mooseman: 19
Hand: 6
Library: 45
In play:

(TTTUUUUU) Island x8

(S) Morph Guy (2/2)

Graveyard:
RFG:
 
M

Modus Pwnens

Guest
A quick rules recapitation.

A spell only (<- this is important!) targets when the word "target" appears in it's textbox. To check whether a spell targets or not, use the following scheme:

-Target has to be declared on announcement.
Y: The spell targets, thus can't affect a creature with shroud.
N: The spell doesn't target, thus creatures with shroud are affected.

Examples:

Boomerang (just a stab in the dark): return target creature to it's owners hand.
Target has to be declared as you play the spell, thus it can't target a creature with shroud.

Diabolic Edict: Target player sacrifices a creature.
Target has to be declared as you play the spell, but it targets a player, so if the player only controls a creature with shroud, it'll have to be sacrificed.

Some random (nonexistent) card: Choose a creature. Return that creature to it's owners hand.
"target" (which I realize is a poor choice of words) is chosen on resolution, thus a creature with shroud can be bounced.

Tricky: Misdirection: Change the target of target spell.
First target is chosen upon resolution, second on announcement (as the spell is the target of misdirection, while the target of the targetted spell is the result of the misdirection.. still with me? :D)

Also keep in mind that only permanents (ie cards in play) and players (darn you future sight!) can have shroud, so cards in hands/graveyard can be targetted, even if they have the word shroud printed on them, or a card says otherwise. (I vaguely remember some card which I believe say lands in graveyards can't be the target of spells or abilities).

Hope that cleared some things up for you :)
 
R

Rakarth

Guest
It has, but I believe that which is affected me most :D is enchant. When I looked it up, enchant implies that a creature must be targeted when it is chosen to be enchanted. Although the word target does not actually appear on enchant cards.

Rakarth
 

Ransac

CPA Trash Man
Don't forget that Enchanting a creature also constitutes as targeting them.

EDIT: Just read your new post. No, you cannot enchant a creature with shroud..... unless you have Enchantment Alteration, in which case you enchant one creature and then switch the enchantment to "another" (not target) creature.

Ransac, cpa trash man
 
M

Modus Pwnens

Guest
Of course I forgot that, but since the target of an Aura still has to be declared upon announcement, it does target in a sense that you can't enchant something with shroud.

212.4e An Aura spell requires a target, which is restricted by its enchant ability.

EDIT: don't forget effects that put aura's into play Ransac, for example an aura that returns to play after the oblivion ring that removed it has been destroyed, comes into play enchanting a permanent of it's controllers choice. :)
 
R

Rakarth

Guest
Okaaay. I'm dead soon :p

So let's make an enemy :D Faith's Fetters on Pernicious Deed. Responses?

Rokapoke: 27
Hand: 7
Library: 46
In play:

(TTTTTUUU) Plains x8

Soulcatcher's Aerie (Whenever a Bird is put into your graveyard from play, put a feather counter on ~. All birds get +1/+1 for each feather counter on ~.) Two feather counters

(S) Bird token (3/3)
(S) Bird token (3/3)

Graveyard: Battle Screech
RFG:
-------------------------------------------------
Spiderman: 25
Hand: 6
Library: 44
In play:

(T,T) Scrubland (B/W dual) x2
(T) Bayou (B/G dual)
(U) Savannah (G/W dual)
(T,T) Swamp x2
(T) Nantucko Monastery (T: Add 1 to my mana pool. Threshold - GW: ~ becomes a 4/4 green and white creature with first strike ueot. It's still a land)
(T) Treetop Village (T: Add G to my mana pool. 1G: ~ becomes a 3/3 green Ape creature with trample ueot. It's still a land)

Pernicious Deed (X, Sac ~: Destroy each artifact, creature, and enchantment with converted mana cost X or less)

Graveyard: Vindicate
RFG:
-------------------------------------------------
Ransac: 27
Hand: 4
Library: 39
In play:

(U) Faerie Conclave (Faerie Conclave comes into play tapped. T: Add Blue Mana to your mana pool. 1U: Faerie Conclave becomes a 2/1 blue Faerie creature with flying until end of turn. It's still a land.)
(TU) Savannah (G/W)
(TTT) Tundra (U/W)
(TTU) Tropical Island (G/U)
(T) Island
(U) Mishra's Factory (T: Add 1 to your mana pool. 1: Mishra's Factory becomes a 2/2 Assembly-Worker artifact creature until end of turn. It's still a land. T: Target Assembly-Worker creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)

Rhystic Study (Whenever an opponent plays a spell, you may draw a card unless that player pays 1)

(T) Winged Sliver (3/3, All slivers have flying.)
(T) Gemhide Sliver (3/3, All slivers have "T: add one mana of any color to your mana pool.")
(T) Crystalline Sliver (4/4, All slivers have shroud)
(S) Might Sliver (4/4, all slivers gain +2/+2)

Graveyard: Remand
RFG: Time Spiral
-------------------------------------------------
Rakarth: 7
Hand: 6
Library: 43
In play:

(U,U,U,U,T) Islandx5
(U,T,T,T) Plainsx4


Graveyard: Drift Of Phantasms
RFG:
-------------------------------------------------
Modus Pwnens: 53 (50?)
Hand: 6
Library: 46
In play:

(T, T, T) Forest
(T, T) Mountain

Graveyard: Forgotten Ancient
RFG: Seize the Day, Kavu Predator
-------------------------------------------------
Mooseman: 19
Hand: 6
Library: 45
In play:

(TTTUUUUU) Island x8

(S) Morph Guy (2/2)

Graveyard:
RFG:
 
M

Modus Pwnens

Guest
Aww, I was going to blow that up :(

No responses here anyway..
 

Mooseman

Isengar Tussle
I'll pay UU and morph my guy
Willbender (1/2,Morph 1U When Willbender is turned face up, change the target of target spell or ability with a single target.)

Let's change the Faith's Fetters to Ransac's Faerie Conclave
 
M

Modus Pwnens

Guest
Excellent, another chance for me, please don't touch the deed :D
 
M

Modus Pwnens

Guest
Hmm, i'm still not sure if I should wait or not. After all, I have no guarantees that Spidey will keep mana open, and as I can only kill it at sorcery speed...

I'll let it depend on what I draw :)
 

Mooseman

Isengar Tussle
Modus Pwnens said:
Hmm, i'm still not sure if I should wait or not. After all, I have no guarantees that Spidey will keep mana open, and as I can only kill it at sorcery speed...

I'll let it depend on what I draw :)
you want to kill the deed????? are you nuts? You don't want it to pop?
 
M

Modus Pwnens

Guest
Mr "i'll only use it in defense" isn't planning to pop it anytime soon..
 

Ransac

CPA Trash Man
"Maybe he really wants to get his strategy on the board and doesn't want to wait for the deed to go boom" says the man with lots of creatures on the field.

Ransac, cpa trash man
 

Mooseman

Isengar Tussle
It's a use it or lose it time...... IMHO.....
the only one who is fears the deed is the one with all the tribal creatures......

FEAR THE DEED
 
R

rokapoke

Guest
Mooseman said:
the only ones who fear the deed are the ones with all the tribal creatures......
I've corrected your statement.

I don't want that thing around, either!
 
Top