Weird Deck... Could it work?

K

K9Archmage

ok... I am new to the world of magic. Is a burn-counter deck any good? I made one, and it has a record of 10 wins and 3 losses. Any ideas for cards that i should put in to make a really good burn-counter deck?

Hoipa

D

Duel

Hammer of Bogardan. Counter-hammer is an established decktype.

A

arhar

Counter Burn was pretty big in 97-98. As Duel pointed out, Hammer is big in that kind of decks, and so was Shard Phoenix, with the rest of the deck basically being blue card advantage and counters :)

D

Duel

Perhaps a less direct method: Mini-burn for stall/earthquake? Maybe a tectonic break?

All in all, though, He's right. the best response to a derm costs UU and says "Counter target...."

C

Chaos Turtle

Or, if you're playing blue/red... you could Rupture your Skizzik...

T

Teferi

definitly try counter phoenix, it's probaly one of my favorite deck types, and it's good

T

Thallid Ice Cream Man

Another answer to Blastoderm that is pretty good is Wash Out (good against non-Blastoderm as well - not to say Counterspell isn't)

P

Purple_jester

Is this a T2 thread? Ah, never mind. Type Casual then.

There are lots of solutions to Blastoderm. Glacial Wall is the stupidest solution, but it's there. Anything that says "Counter target spell." Is an excellent solution, especially if it's Desertion. Wash Out is great.

It is also essential to Shock, Lightning Bolt, Incinerate or Pyroclasm all creature mana producers that the green mage produces. That way, you have counter power by the time the poor fool gets up to 4 mana.

There's also the Wand of Denial/Bazaar of Wonders approach, but that takes time.

Cheese, counters and a liberal amount of Phoenixes are always good. f you want to go pound-for-pound, there's always Balduvian Hordes. The discard isn't much of a factor if you can draw tons more cards than your opponent. ;)

D

Duel

The problem with Wash Out is two fold