Some questions about 5-color rules

Spiderman

Administrator
Staff member
From www.5-color.com

When mulliganing, if Player A mulligans, Player B is allowed to mulligan without using up his "mulligan". On the next hand, if Player B mulligans, is Player A also allowed to mulligan in response like B was able to do to A?

How did the "Having No Permanents" rule come about?
 
D

Dune Echo

Guest
In response to the first question, yes. If your opponent pulls a free mulligan, you are allowed to as well.

The no permanents rule I need to look up, don't remember that one.
 
D

Dune Echo

Guest
Um, not sure what rule you're referring to, can you copy it for me here?
 

Spiderman

Administrator
Staff member
Regarding the mulligan: Should that be clarified on the site? 'Cause it was unclear (which is why I asked).

Having No Permanents
Players that control no permanents may not speak. [12 Oct 01]
It's down near the bottom, right before Official Errata.
 
D

Dune Echo

Guest
Okay... That has nothing to do with a mulligan. As odd as it sounds, this format has it's own crazy rules, and some goofball somewhere decided to get this one approved. If you have no permanents in play while playing 5-Color, you are simply not allowed to speak. I have never run into this situation before, so I haven't seen if this rule is abided by in my area.

I spoke with CHA1N5 and he didn't even know it existed until you mentioned it. The funny thing is this:
CHA1N5 says:
that means no talking on your first turn, until you play a land
Pretty much just ignore this rule if you want. I think however, it will be observed in 5-Color tournaments, so be warned...

Also, there are some errata for ante cards, so everyone may want to look at them.
 

Spiderman

Administrator
Staff member
The mulligan and the No Permanents question were two separate ones, not related to each other.

Still trying to find time to sit down with my cards and think of a deck... :)
 
Top