RGD draft?

B

BuiltByKevlar

I have never done a draft before. Not even one and I am very interested in it. Hopefully I will do my first draft before the end of the week. I need tips. Tips for everything from what guilds are in what packs to how I can send signals to people. Basically I have no idea what I am doing and I would love as much info as you guys will give me. Thanks.

D

dwarven_anarchist

Basically, try to stick to 3 colors.

Go for BREAK:

Bombs - Anything that really breaks the game open; big fliers, mass removal, etc.
Removal - Kill spells, burn, Arrest-style effects.
Evasion - Flying, unblockability, to a lesser extent Protection.
Aggression/Advantage - I've heard both.
Krap - Stuff you wouldn't feed your dog.

good luck.

L

Limited

I think there was a great article on mtgsalvation about this; but I can't seem to find it :(

Something about Izzet being ridiculous in draft, so you need to start drafting UR immediately (leaving bombs of other color for other players). At the end of the Ravnica pack, you decide to either pick up some white or green cards, setting you up for Azorius or Simic in Dissension.

G

Gizmo

There's loads of different ways of drafting in RGD, it's probably the best limited format ever. Ravnica is the weakest pack - however good your Selesnya cards look dont take them, it's a dead end guild. Many players 'ignore' the guild structure of Ravnica and simply use it to pick Signets and guildlands to fix their mana then pick up guilds from later packs.

Popular decks:
RGU (Gruul, Izzet, Simic)
BRG (Golgari, Gruul, Rakdos)
BRU (Dimir, Izzet, Rakdos)

The biggest drawback to avoid is making an aggressive deck based over 3 colours, if your deck is going to be qggressive it's best to base in two main colours with a third colour only as a mid-late game splash otherwise your mana becomes so complicated that you won't be able to reliably play your early creatures and you'll lose.

B

BuiltByKevlar