Random Thoughts on the Economy

E

EricBess

I'm not an economic expert, but I've been thinking a lot about this recently and I wanted to run this by you guys and get some of your insight as well.

It seems that a "good economy" is characterized by people buying things. You hear words such as "Consumer confidence" and money seems to trade hands fairly regularly.

On the other hand, when the economy is slow, it is usually because there is some reason in general people don't want to spend money.

Government tries to regulate to some degree by controlling interest rates. When interest rates are high, people tend to save money because 1) they cannot afford to take out loans, and 2) they get a good return on their investment by saving. When interest rates are low, the opposite happens - not much return on savings and easy financing.

So why is it that interest rates are so low right now and yet the economy is largely believed to be horrible?

I have two theories (and one subtheory) -

Theory #1 - The economy isn't really as bad as it seems, but because prices for fuel and food have skyrocketed recently, people are having to redirect their spending on these items. In other words, we are spending as much as we always do, but it seems like we aren't because we aren't getting as much for our money.

Theory #2 - Consumer confidence has been taken for a loop on the housing market. Even though interest rates are low right now, people don't want to buy because they are afraid that they will become trapped.

Subtheory - We've had such good interest rates and it's been so easy to spend for so long that we have, as a country, overextended to the point where we can't spend anymore right now, even if we wanted to.

D

DarthFerret