Meta-look at Magic

• Thread starter Turtle Pie on Fire!
  • Start date
T

Turtle Pie on Fire!

I admit it.

I've been unfaithful.

I've been looking into other CCGs <Collective Gasp! The horror, the horror!)

So. My question is this.

What attracts you to Magic? What is it that distinguishes it from other CCGs. I'm not just talking about emotions, or I like this card, though those are reasons that I'd certainly like to hear. But what about the mechanics of the game. You know, winning conditions, timing issues, player interraction and all that good stuff.

I remain,
the one, the only,
Flaming Turtle Pie.

D

DÛke

Well, it's true: Magic is the uniquest card game out there.
What attracts me to Magic is really unknown, I guess that's why they call it Magic:). I started playing at the end of Mirage, I quit, and then restarted at the end of Tempest. I don't know, I just got hooked up on the game. I bought the Portal Started decks and played them over and over and over again. It was really fun.
I was amazed to find out that Portal was nothing like the real Magic. I was just so amazed at the different stuff one can do. In Portal, you play Creatures and Sorcerys in order to win a game. Creature based games are the only way it can be. When I looked at Temepst, that's when the real Magic began. Artifacts, Creatures, Instants, Sorcerys, Enchantements, and all kind of stuff, countering spells, sacrificing creatures, non basic lands, gold cards; all those were attractive to a Portal player like me.
My first rare card was Humility from Tempest. I loved that card.

I think that Magic is really unqiue because it has so many stuff, so many options, so many different interactions between the two or more players.

I know how to play X-Men for example, and it's a good game, but, it doesn't have the kick Magic has. X-Men is more fun, yes, but Magic is more stragic, it requires more thinking, and you have to put thoughts as to what to play.