Magic the Gathering Storyline questions...

D

Demon Lord

I've been playing Magic now for probably 7 months...and throughout this time, i've gatherred some knowledge about the characters from the story...but I'm so deep into this magic phase... that im actually feinding for the storyline. I have become a "GOD of Black Magic" in my household, and amongst friends. I have aquired most of the Meanest, Most Ruthless Black Creatures and Rares out there, and I'm most interested in learning about the Black Side to these stories. So if someone would be so kind as to summarize this stuff for me, i would be very thankful!:D :cool:

N

Nightstalkers

Okay... Yawgmoth is like the purest evil.... Serra is like the purest good...

Then you have Urza in between.

Yawgmoth wants to lay the smackdown on everyone, so sends his machine minions to go mop the floor with everyone. Basically, if your a trekie, you can kinda make an analogy that Yawgmoth is like the Borg kinda.

Anyways... thats kinda it on the universe side of things...

On the Plane side tho, theres so many little "bad guys" that its kinda ridiculous. You have Urtai who was good, but turned bad to get back at Gerrard... Mishra who hated his brother Urza... Volrath who was basically evil in the first place, but a minion of Yawgmoth too... Then there is just about every planeswalker who comes by and wants to be a pain in the butt...

Mainly just read up on the bios of the different characters, and read some of the older books. Dragons seem to be getting the shaft by being called evil critters... but I guess we'll have to get over that...

N

Notepad

I'm surprise Nightstalkers didn't recommend this:

www.phyrexia.com

A great resource for finding out about the stories.

It is very hard to give an brief overview of the world's events in Magic. There are so many characters, side events, and great wars that things are rather huge to summarize.

World events are like this, in total watered-down summary: