landstill

C

chris92

i've been testing the casual life deck, and i wasn't too happy with its peformance, it didn't have any form of disruption.
too bad. so i decided to make this one instead:

lands
4 shivan reef
4 mishra's factory
3 faerie conclave
4 strip mine
5 island
3 mountain
1 flooded strand

control
4 force of will
4 counterspell
2 annul
2 stifle
2 chain of vapor

burn
4 fire/ice
3 lightning bolt

card advantage
4 standstill
4 brainstorm

others
4 nevinyrral's disk
2 crucible of worlds
1 lotus petal

this is my very first build, i hadn't had enough time to test it adequately. need some help. thanks in advance

:)

Oversoul

The Tentacled One
Landstill is being used successfully in Legacy, or so I've heard...

I would imagine Fact or Fiction would be nice...

The only thing that would weaken your build by making it Legacy legal is replacing the Strip Mines with Wastelands...

G

Gizmo

Standstill really isnt a great card, all it does in the end is translate into drawing three cards. If the rest of your deck doesnt stand up for itself, then who cares how many cards you draw?

99% of the time the correct response to your opponent casting Standstill is to simply carry on regardless and ignore it. Maybe wait a bit until you can give him like 11 cards in his hand in his discard phase or something.

Building a deck around Standstill seems entirely futile.

C

chris92

yea, landstill is doing great in 1.5

i'm not entirely sure if the mana base would support fact or fiction but i'm willing to try it out.
this build's for casual play, so the strip mines are fine for now, plus i only have a couple of wastelands.

to gizmo
the deck can hold its own even without drawing standstill. drawing three cards is always great.
how could he ignore standstill?

C

Chaos Turtle