Expensive Mana Deck

R

Revan

Please tell me what you think. I'm a newbie so if you think it is terrible...that's why,lol. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. :)

Lands:
2 x Temple of the False God
23 x Mountains
18 x Islands

Creatures:
2 x Phyrexian Colossus
1 x Phyrexian Hulk
4 x Chartooth Cougar
4 X Goblin Machinist
2 x Scornful Egotist
2 x Vizzerdrix
2 x Aven Fateshaper
2 x Shoreline Ranger
2 x Qumulox
1 x Arc-Slogger
1 x Thundermare
1 x Macetaile hystrodon
1 x Skittish Valesk
1 x Bloodstroke howler
1 x Bloodshot Cyclops
1 x Plasma Elemental
1 x Bonethorn Valesk
1 x Iron-Barb Hellion
1 x Frenetic Raptor
1 x Thundercloud Elemental
1 x Air Elemental
1 x Mischievous Quanar

Enchantments:
1 x Parallel Thoughts
3 x Pyrostatic Pillar

Instants:
4 x Dispersal Shield

Sorcery:
1 x Beacon of Tomorrows
1 x Slice and Dice
2 x Rush of Knowledge
3 x Erratic Explosion
4 x Torrent of Fire

Thanks for any thoughts

J

jorael

Nice deck. You certainly establish a theme here. If you like the deck to be a bit random, this works. I prefer more consistency usually. What I'd do is take all the best playable expensive spells and take all cards that make best use out of it and try to get the deck around 60 cards.

Creatures: Qumulox without any artifacts is too expensive IMO. You can hardly cast it. Aven fateshaper is also hard to cast. It's ability is nice, but not essential. Scornful Egotist fits the theme so good I'd play 4! Have you considered the landaffinity creatures? (spire golem & oxidda golem) They are easy to cast, so you have more to play early on and have casting cost of 6 :) I see you already use expensive morphs, they look good in the deck.

Personally I think Torrent of Fire is too expensive for it's effect, I'd go for 4x erratic explosion (or pyromancy if you got 'em) and 4 rush of knowledge (also 5 mana, but a great card drawer in this kind of deck)..

I made this deck last week, which shares your passion about casting costs:

BIG
12 mountain
12 island