Destroy the Pro Tour?

S

shafe 3:16

Hello,
I am new here and I thought I would throw out a topic. What does everyone think of the Pro tour? I personally hate it. I think it is a waste of a resource that could be used for better Magic sets or make packs cheaper. Currently the Pro tour costs WOTC money. They say it is used for advertising and lagitimizing the game of magic, but has it really done this? It has been 3 years and the game has gone into decline. What mainstream coverage does the Pro tour get? None. The same players are always there and the formats are always limited. Extended and Block constructed formats are weak. Why isn't there a T2 Pro Tour like the first one?
Before this turns into a rant I just wanted say that I think this site is a great idea and I feel proud being part of it. I have been playing magic for 5 years and I have been a "pro" and a casual player. I love the game and I hope this site can help keep it around.
BTW: I think the best way to exact change at wotc is not go thru Wotc, but Hasbro. They might be more inclined to inact change if hasbro feels the consumers have concerns. Just a thought....

T

The Magic Jackal

I have been in favor of a type 2 pro tour for years now. anyway, welcome to the cpa shafe

S

Spaceman Spiff

why why ....WHY!??!?! ya i want whatever jackal said.... :)

C

Chaos Turtle

Type 2 Pro Tour now!
Uhm, I could care less whether they keep the Pro Tour.

Spiderman

Administrator
Staff member
I guess I'm against the Tour generally because it offers CASH PRIZES and the accompanying behavior and attitudes have generally digressed (at least, that's my perception of it - hence my opinion :)).

Has there ever been a Type II format?

M

Mr_Pestilence

There are problems with the Pro Tour, but there should be some format where the best Magic players can be identified and rewarded.