Check only one:

Which basic deck concept, listed below, do you most identify with?

• Control

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Combo

Votes: 1 33.3%
  • Beatdown

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other (please explain)

Votes: 2 66.7%

• Total voters

Killer Joe

Which basic deck concept, listed here, do you most identify with:
Control
Combo
Beatdown
Other
If other, please post what it is.

Killer Joe

The fact that I am a teacher may be a factor in my choice. IRL, I often let other's talk first so that I can adjust my reaction (I DO have control of my actions-which is a serious lesson to learn, really.)
Anyone here that remotely knows me, knows that I love long games (even though I'm still working on the 'long game' concentration part). I realize now that I would much prefer my opponents to concede, in disgust, rather than win out-right via beatdown. And I have never been one to enjoy playing combo decks like 'Academy' and the likes.
Don't get me wrong, I totally appreciate non-control decks, it's just that I've come to the conclusion that I am a control player, it fits my personality.
The 'Road to Tourneyland' has revealed this to me, and I have accepted myself for who I am, ME.

Spiderman

Administrator
Staff member
I think control edges out for me because I like to be prepared for all cases. I also like longer games because it makes the game more mental (if I'm playing against a beatdown or combo, I've probably disrupted his strategy (or am trying to) and against another control, tha games will be long regardless). And if you think more, you might make mistakes more. :)

Melkor