Band Camp

Killer Joe

Wahoo! It's that time of the year again where I have to convince 95 kids that they love to be out in the sun working twice as hard as the football team (I'm pusing them towards "Corps" style) and make them think they like it. Truth be told, most of them like it (as I did when I was in my HS marching band) anyway.
Now I know some of YOU were in the band or something in your HS music department. So tell us, what's your funniest, best or worst memory from band camp or other facet?
My personal favorite was when my band director said for the drumline (I'm a drummer) to go behind the school and work on memorizing our parts for the halftime show. We went around the back of the building and slept. Two hours later we played with the band and things went well. HOW come? We had taped our music to the backs of the kids standing in front of us. How cool is that?
BTW, for you new folks, I'm a High School band director.

D

Duster

And one time at band camp....!

Sorry, I couldn't help myself ;)

K

krichaiushii

Here is my funny band story. It also led to my first, and only, suspension while in high school. Keep in mind that I went to a small high school in Ohio, that had a good show band (we were invited to France for their Bicentennial, but couldn't raise the funds).

Being a freshman tuba player, I wanted to hang out with the cool senior tuba and the percussion section leaders. They mentioned to me a tradition they had of getting drunk before a football game against a certain school. Wanting to impress my new role-models, I asked to go with them. It was agreed that I could go if I could get alcohol. A few hours later, we have a bottle of peppermint schnapps (reminiscent of drinking a LOT of Scope) and a six pack of Bud. Wow! Did that make for a nasty combination!