A casual deck, how to transform it into a tourney quality.

• Thread starter TheGuyFromTheOtherPost
  • Start date
T

TheGuyFromTheOtherPost

I have been playing Magic for about 2 years now, and I have advanced in the game. I have a deck that I would like to transform into a better, possibly a tourney quality deck.

I have played this deck in casual games between now and then, but now, since I love the idea of the deck, I would like to transform it and/or atleast develope it into a further level.

Here's the deck (I'll explain it's tech after the list):

Blue Creatures (18):
4 - Darting Merfolk
4 - Drake Hatchling
3 - Pendrell Drake
3 - Sandbar Serpent
2 - Drifting Djinn
2 - Aerial Caravan

Blue Spells (18):
4 - Accumelated Knowledge
4 - Miscalculation
4 - Counterspell
4 - Seal of Removal
2 - Rescind

Lands (24):
2 - Rath's Edge
2 - Blasted Landscape
20- Island

The deck is really fun and sometimes challenging to play. You have small defenders, and large attackers. The point of the deck is to cycle every card that doesn't have an 'instant' use to it; so if I draw a Drifting Djinn, Sandbar Serpent, and/or Penedrell Drake, I should cycle them inorder to get cards like Daring Merfolk, Miscalculation, Counterspell, Seal of Removal, and/or Drake Hatchling. Late game, you might want to cycle the Miscalculation as it becomes very useless, so does the Blasted Landscape.

Aerial Caravan is the best creature there is. I have never seen a card that can do so much without tapping (other than Morphling). You play the Caravan, get yourself a 4/3 flyer, and now you could draw a lot of cards, make sure you have a lot of mana though.
The Caravan becomes even more useful when you draw Cycling cards, because you could use the Cycling ability and draw cards that 'will' stay in your hand even after the turn is done.
*More people should try this creature, it's really, really playable and useful.*