Wrath of God

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Wizard2000, Apr 1, 2000.

  1. Wizard2000 New Member

    Does Wrath of God kill creatures with protection from white? I've heard both yes and no on this one...
  2. FoundationOfRancor The Gunslinger

    Yes it does cuz it doesent target em.
  3. supascrub New Member

    Protection has three effects-
    1) The creature can't be the target of spells or abilities of that color.
    2) All damage done to that creature from a source of that color is reduced to zero.
    3) The creature can't be blocked by creatures of that color.
  4. superguy Helpful CPA Member MAGICBOY

    The Wrath of God will indefinitelly kill all of the creatures in play, including those with protection from white, just like Extinction would kill a certain creature, even if the creatures have protection from black.
  5. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Not to belabor the obvious (if it IS obvious) but since Wrath doesn't target any creatures ("Bury ALL") that is why protection doesn't work against it (from the definitions above).
  6. rpitcher New Member

    Not that it impacts the answer regarding this question, but there is a 4th aspect of "protection" that SupaScrub didn't list.

    He already listed....
    1) The creature can't be the target of spells or abilities of that color.
    2) All damage done to that creature from a source of that color is reduced to zero.
    3) The creature can't be blocked by creatures of that color.

    The other aspect is:
    4) Enchantments of that colour already on the creature are destroyed.

    This is not convered by the first one (targetting) as an enchantment already on the creature is a permanent, not a spell or ability.
  7. Griffith_se Guest

    I think I finally have a grip on Protection. For others who have a hard a time as I did let me simplify. I hope I'm right about this or i'm going to go back to a total state of confusion. :)


    Protection has three effects-
    1) The creature can't be the target of spells or abilities of that color.

    -Wrath does not have specific target. OK

    2) All damage done to that creature from a source of that color is reduced to zero.

    -Wrath does not deal damage, it simply just destroys. OK

    3) The creature can't be blocked by creatures of that color.

    -N/A to wrath of god

    Therefore Wrath of God does kill creatures with protection White.

    I think I got it, finally, ya hoo! :D

    Griffith_se

    [Edited by Griffith_se (04-04-2000 at 12:46 PM).]
  8. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    Don't forget-

    4) Enchantments of that colour already on the creature are destroyed.

    also N/A to Wrath of God ;)
  9. Killer Joe Active Member

    How about Earthquake? Does a creature like Soltari Priest survive an Earthquake? The Soltari Priest is NOT targeted but has Pro:Red.
  10. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    See #2...
    All damage from a source of the protected color is prevented.

Share This Page