Time Stop

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Nightstalkers, Mar 21, 2005.

  1. Nightstalkers Creature — Nightstalker

    Can it be played during beginning phase to stop an opponent from untapping?


    Does opponents have priority during beginning phase (before untap)?
  2. kriz_riktr Member

    No, no player will receive priority to play anything in the untap step. The first time any player receives priority in a turn is in the upkeep step, which is after the untap step.
  3. Nightstalkers Creature — Nightstalker

    Okay, so basically if played when an opponent declares all his "beginning of upkeep" things, you can play timestop to stop those...

    And Time Stop removes itself from the game, correct?
  4. Aneximines New Member

    Yes, you can stop beginning-of-upkeep abilities from resolving. In fact, if there are several, you could let some resolve and then Time Stop to stop the rest.

    If it's your opponent's turn, then first the beginning-of-upkeep abilities he controls will go on the stack, and then the beginning-of-upkeep abilities you control will go on the stack on top of them. So if you have a Black Vise and he has an Ivory Tower, you could Time Stop after the Vise's ability resolves but before the Tower's ability does.

    And yes, Time Stop removes itself from the game. Spells stay on the stack while they're resolving; it's only if they're still there when they finish resolving that the game shunts them off to another zone.
  5. Killer Joe Active Member

    You get Slavered and in response you play Time Stop,....doh!
  6. train The Wildcard!!!...

    Did this happen to you KJ?...

    Now try running the time stop in that ever fun "dream halls" deck

    "blue is so broken..."
  7. Oversoul The Tentacled One

    What's this Dream Halls deck? I know mine wouldn't have any use for Time Stop...

Share This Page