The Ultimate Nightmare of Wizards of the Coast(R) Customer Service

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Mikeymike, Jun 24, 2003.

  1. Mikeymike Captain Hiatus

    Is this considered a red or blue card?

    Seriously, I plan on putting it into a deck. Even though it was meant to be a joke its a pretty freaking powerful card.
  2. Mikeymike Captain Hiatus

    The Picture

    Attached Files:

  3. Nightstalkers Creature — Nightstalker

    What color mana are you paying for the base cost?

    Red, what other colors are you paying for?

    Not a darned other color except the colorless XYZ costs.

    So, knowing this you can safely say that the card is Red.


    So you go with the next best thing:


    K.7 - Color of a Spell/Permanent
    K.7.1 - The base color(s) of a spell and a permanent are the color(s) of
    mana specified in the mana cost (see Rule K.18).

    [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 203.2]

    Code:
    So the card is [color=red]red[/color]
  4. Jigglypuff Big Cute Pink Thing

    Why did Nightstalkers post the correct answer twice?

    (- Steve -)
  5. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Beats me, so I merged his posts.
  6. EricBess Active Member

    Actually, I hate to disagree with such a convincing argument Nightstalkers, but I have it from a very reliable source that this is actually a green card. :D



    In all seriousness though, I know judges who intentionally change their rulings every time they are asked a question about unglued cards. Officially, there is no official rulings concerning cards with little cracked eggs as their expansion symbol ;)
  7. train The Wildcard!!!...

    Now run with Mirari, and Forks...

    "And hope your opponent doesn't have a Reflect Damage..."
  8. Mikeymike Captain Hiatus

    Thanks for the replies guys.

    I'll tell you what, I'm inclined to lean towards blue for a few reasons.
    1 - All the Kobolds had 0 casting cost, which in theory would make them artifacts. They were however red cards.
    2 - The card is actually blue. The casting cost is red. You hold the card 2 feet away from you and squint your eyes, you see blue.
    3 - Blue direct damage is so much cooler than red direct damage :D.
  9. Nightstalkers Creature — Nightstalker

    how dense do you get?

    Crimson Kobolds:
    Info: Color=Red Type=Creature - Kobold Cost=0 LG(C2)
    Text(LG+errata): 0/1. ; ~this~ is red. [Oracle 2001/08/24]
    The color setting text isn't an ability. [D'Angelo 2000/03/03]
    The casting cost is not a mistake. [D'Angelo 1994/08/01]
    The text on the card explaining the color can be affected with
    Sleight of Mind. [Duelist Magazine 18, Page 29] Changing this wording
    affects the initial color of the card much like changing the mana symbols
    on a card would do. [D'Angelo 1996/12/04] It used to be explanatory text
    and was not Sleightable.
    Extended tournaments (see Rule D.15) have always banned this card.
    Note - Also see Crookshank Kobolds and Kobolds of Kher Keep.

    Crookshank Kobolds:
    Info: Color=Red Type=Creature - Kobold Cost=0 LG(C2)
    Text(LG+errata): 0/1. ; ~this~ is red. [Oracle 2001/08/24]

    Kobolds of Kher Keep:
    Info: Color=Red Type=Creature - Kobold Cost=0 LG(C2)
    Text(LG+errata): 0/1. ; ~this~ is red. [Oracle 1999/09/03]

    Do you even look at the card text? Card text overrides the cost for this particular set of cards.
  10. Mikeymike Captain Hiatus

    Depends, was that rhetorical? :p

    So tell me Nightstalkers, what is it about this particular topic that has your panties all in a bunch - or is it just me? Either way, you are taking this a little too seriously. Relax bro, er fellas.
  11. Nightstalkers Creature — Nightstalker

    :D

    Just had to explain that whole thing to a judge just last night...

    I SWEAR, IF THESE "LEVEL 4" JUDGES DON'T PULL THEIR HEADS OUT OF WHEREVER THEY SHOVED THEM, I'LL TIE'EM UP WITH ME SHOE STRINGS!

    Spiderman: I won't post me degrading picture which you have already took down... :confused: you did take down me last picture, didn't you?

    Mots, yea-yea-yea-yea, what are they good for, absolutely nothing-nothing-nothing


    SING IT AGAIN!
  12. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    I only took down the stuff that I said was too big.

    What level 4 judge are you talking about? I assume there's not that many...
  13. Nightstalkers Creature — Nightstalker

    I'm not going to name, names but...

    *cough* TRAVIS *cough*

    I think after me first try to become a judge around here, I just pissed them off...

    And thats just with a wierd knowledge of MTG, and the comp. rules from crystalkeep!
  14. train The Wildcard!!!...

    No Sunglasses of Urza with this would have made it a white spell... before errata...

    "White mana in your mana pool may be used as either red or white mana..."

    So it would then be white mana - just used as red...

    So you'd actually be paying with white mana?!!!...

    "Okay... maybe I am stretching it a little too much..."
  15. Nightstalkers Creature — Nightstalker

    or smoking alittle too much :rolleyes:
  16. train The Wildcard!!!...

    And if a Ghostly flame was in play?...
  17. Mikeymike Captain Hiatus

    Fine then, I'm playing Ersatz Gnomes! :p
  18. NorrYtt Casual Green Mage

    The Ultimate Nightmare of Wizards of the Coast(R) Customer Service is a BLUE card, according to the Unglued FAQ. It costs red mana, but it's a blue card. This is an intentional flaw, don't you see?
  19. Nightstalkers Creature — Nightstalker

    well, it beats me...


    Next time I'll let the cheese fall off me cracker and rule that way...
  20. train The Wildcard!!!...

    But Norrytt... what if you use white mana to pay for it?...

    Or play a Naked Singularity and really go to town...

Share This Page