Terravore and Wildfire

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Mikeymike, May 29, 2002.

  1. Mikeymike Captain Hiatus

    Situation, I've got 4 lands in my GY and Terravore in play.

    I cast Wildfire, do the lands in the GY check before the Terravore gets the increase - killing him - or does he become an 8/8 before the damage occurs?

    Thanks in advance.
  2. Jigglypuff Big Cute Pink Thing

    He lives. When SBE are checked, it sees an 8/8 Terravore with 4 damage on it.

    (- Steve -)
  3. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    Right. The Terravore's power/toughness changes in "real time," always being equal to the number of lands in all players' graveyards, whereas state-based effects are only checked when a player would receive priority and at step changes.

    Incidentally, the Terravore would probably be at least a 12/12.
  4. Mikeymike Captain Hiatus

    Der, goes to show how many times I've used Terravore.

    Thanks fellas.
  5. Nightstalkers Creature — Nightstalker

    That does it!!!! we've torched all twelve of the Squierel mobs and the three Terravores we got and all we get is a pile of ashes!!
    :(
    note to all: dont try playing magic in real life!

Share This Page