Summoning Sickness

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Dune Echo, Apr 4, 2000.

  1. Dune Echo CPA Founder, Idea Man

    Turn 1: I play Forest, Lanowar Elves.
    My opponent's turn: Mountain, Lightning Bolt.

    Question: Does the Lanowar Elves have summoning sickness? Can I tap them to play a Giant Growth. This has never honestly happened to me, so I'm not entirely sure I'm right. I know if the creature begins (your or any) turn on your side, it's not supposed to have summoning sickness anymore.

    Thanks!
  2. Griffith_se Guest

    No, It has summoning until your next Begining phase. I'm about 99.99% sure.
  3. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    Go ahead and be 100%, cuz you're right.

    A creature has "summoning sickness" unless it has been in play since the beginning of it's controller's turn (or later).
  4. Gryphonclaw New Member

    Um, I may be splitting hairs here, but I believe that a creature has summoning sickness from the time it comes into play to the beginning of it's controllers upkeep.
    Confirmation/Denial anyone?
  5. Zadok001 CPA Founder, Greater Good

    Nope, when it starts a turn it loses summoning sickness. Not that it makes the damnest bit of difference.... :)
  6. ChasDen Moderator

    Hello All,

    The exact wording is:

    “All permanents have summoning sickness from the time they enter play (or otherwise come under your control), until they start your turn in play under your control.”
  7. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    I think that's what Zadok meant, he just left out "under your control."

    Bad Zadok!

    [][]XX[][o]/)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

    <font size="2" color="#FF6000">* Chaos Turtle ignites his lightsaber and meances Zadok.</font>

    :cool: kidding, kidding...we cool

Share This Page