Soul Sculptor

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Terentius, Jul 15, 2006.

  1. Terentius The Instigator

    If Soul Sculptor targeted herself, would she permanently become an enchantment, as she loses all her abilities?
  2. Limited Yes, but we won't care

    yes, until a creature comes into play.
  3. Terentius The Instigator

    So her ability is like a condition that will take place even if she "becomes an enchantment and loses all abilities" (including this ability)?
  4. DarthFerret Evil Sith Weasel

    Yes, because the ability is activated when paid for. The conditions of reverting back into a creature are still set, even if the original card is changed. Would be the same as casting an instant or a sorcery version of the effect. Just because the card is in the graveyard (or even RFG) the entire ability is preset.

    Therefore, yes if you use her ability on herself she becomes an enchantment (with no ability whatsoever) until another creature is cast. Then she reverts to her normal annoying self (I say annoying because you could concievably change several critters and herself to enchantments, play a Wrath of God, then when the next critter comes into play, you have a whole bank of them to work with right off of the bat. Kinda like a Safe Haven with instant speed!)
  5. Oversoul The Tentacled One

    Or you could use two of them and keep sculpting your opponent's creatures until he runs out, all while beating him down with your creatures--not that this has ever happened to me or anything...
  6. orgg Administrator

    What changes the creature affected by Soul Sculpter back is what is called a "delayed triggered ability." When the ability resolves, changing the creature into an enchantment, the ability starts watching for a creature to be played. When it does, it automatically gets put on the stack, and when it resolves, the Sculpter turns back.
  7. Force of Will Smith New Member

    sweet.. never thought about using the ability to protect herself..

    so if

    you have a soltari visionary in play, along with a soul sculptor.
    If you attacked with your soltari, and before damage was deal to defending player you activated the soul sculptor's ability to kill a creature of your choice, but instead one player played a creature as an instant.. would you still be able to kill the creature, and secondly.. if you activate soul sculptor's ability to target their creature, then put another sculptors ability on the stack targeting your first, is there anyway an opponent could burn your sculptor to death?
  8. Jigglypuff Big Cute Pink Thing

    If your opponent played the instant-creature while the Soul Sculptor's ability is on the stack, then that instant-creature-spell would not turn the targeted creature back to normal because the targeted creature hasn't become an enchantment yet.

    Yes. The way you described the situation is rather vague, though. If your opponent played his burn spell targeting the second Sculptor while both Sculptors' abilities were on the stack, then his burn spell would resolve first and destroy the second Sculptor. However, because his ability is already on the stack, it won't prevent the targeted creature from being enchantment-ized.

    (- Steve -)
  9. orgg Administrator

    If your opponent waited until your Sculpter's ability had resolved, THEN played the Insta-Creature, however... the Soltari's triggered ability would counter upon resolution.
  10. Force of Will Smith New Member

Share This Page