Shifting wall

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Ophidian, Apr 4, 2000.

  1. Ophidian New Member

    If I have a shifting wall in play, and I flicker it, do I get to repay it's casting cost to make it bigger than it was, or does it stay the same?
  2. Wizard2000 New Member

    The X is in the casting cost... so I would guess that X would be 0 if you flickered it. You're not actually trying to do that are you? :)
  3. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    It would return to play as a 0/0.
    You can't repay its mana cost, and it's a new creature, so it won't be the same as it was before.
  4. Ophidian New Member

    No, I was trying to make a friend of mine 'see the light'. I argued for about an hour because he wanted it to go from a 4/4 to a 14/14. Do any of you know which ruling this would be under? Next time this happens, I wan't to be prepared.
  5. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    Here is D'angelo's specific ruling.
    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>K.26.Ruling.2 - If a card is put into play by means other than casting, any X in the mana cost is considered to be zero. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
    You can only pay a spell's mana cost when playing it or instructed to do so (echo, for example) and at no other time.
  6. Ophidian New Member

Share This Page