Sacrifice as a cost

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by rkoelsch, Sep 24, 2002.

  1. rkoelsch Angel Boy

    This has happened a couple of times in the IPA league I am in on Magic Online. I have a Shackles on a creature with a white land untapped. My opponent uses a card that requires a sacrifice as part of the cost(ie Death Bomb) saccing the creature the shackles is on. By the time I get priority the Shackles are in the Graveyard. I think this is because his paying of costs for the spell doesn't use the stack but I want to be sure I am not missing a stop. Thanks.
  2. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    It sounds right to me. He sacrificed the creature and when state-based effects are checked, the enchantment no longer has a legal target and has to go to the graveyard. Then a player gets priority.

    But better wait until someone else says something :)
  3. Jigglypuff Big Cute Pink Thing

    That's right. All costs for a spell or ability are calculated and paid before a player gains priority again.

    (- Steve -)

Share This Page