Ransac #76

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by train, Dec 8, 2002.

  1. train The Wildcard!!!...

    I have 4 life. My opponent is at 8 life. I attack him with a Berserk-ed Flesh Reaver. He declares no blockers and takes the damage and says the game is a draw since we both die. Is the game a draw? Why?

    Berserk
    Color= Green Type= Instant Cost= G A(U)/B(U)/U(U)
    Text (ABU+errata): Play only before the combat damage step. ; Target creature gains trample and gets +X/+0 until end of turn, where X is its power. At end of turn, destroy that creature if it attacked this turn. [Oracle 2001/08/24]

    Flesh Reaver
    Color= Black Type= Creature - Horror Cost= 1B US(U)
    Text (US+errata): 4/4. ; Whenever ~this~ deals damage to a creature or opponent, ~this~ deals that much damage to you. [Oracle 1999/05/01]
  2. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    No, you win the game. The Flesh Reaver's ability doesn't trigger until damage is dealt. Therefore, since your opponent has already been dealt lethal damage, game over.


    This one I'm not positive on, though.


    Ransac, cpa trash man
  3. Jigglypuff Big Cute Pink Thing

    You're correct, Ransac.

    (- Steve -)
  4. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    No, you win because the damage from the Reaver resolves and it's ability triggers and goes on the stack. When a player gains priority, SBE are checked and your opponent is found to be at 0 life already and thus loses.
  5. train The Wildcard!!!...

    You all get a cookie... except Jigglypuff - he didn't answer...

    "Chocolate Chip, or WOTC Rainbow?"

Share This Page