Ransac... #13

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by train, Oct 2, 2002.

  1. train The Wildcard!!!...

    A little Basics...

    I have Divine Sacrament and Aether Flash in play, and threshold.
    I play Beloved Chaplain. Is the Chaplain destroyed? Why?

    Divine Sacrament
    Color= White Type= Enchantment Cost= 1WW OD(R)
    Text (OD): White creatures get +1/+1. ; Threshold - White creatures get an additional +1/+1. (You have threshold as long as seven or more cards are in your graveyard.)

    AEther Flash
    Color= Red Type= Enchantment Cost= 2RR WL(U)/6(U)/7(U)
    Text (6th/7th): Whenever a creature comes into play, ~this~ deals 2 damage to it

    Beloved Chaplain
    Color= White Type= Creature - Cleric Cost= 1W OD(U)
    Text (OD): 1/1, Protection from Creatures
  2. Jigglypuff Big Cute Pink Thing

    No. He comes into play as a 3/3. The Flash triggers. It resolves and deals 2 damage to the 3/3 Chaplain.

    418.2. Continuous effects that modify characteristics of permanents do so simultaneously with the permanent coming into play. They don't wait until the permanent is in play and then change it. Because such effects apply as the permanent comes into play, apply them before determining whether the permanent will cause an ability to trigger when it comes into play.

    (- Steve -)
  3. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    No. The Chaplain is 3/3 as it enters play since the Sacrament modifies it before it enters play as a continuous effect (418.2)
  4. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    No, Divine Sacrament is a continous effect, and it effects immediately. So, when the AEther Flash's ability is put on the stack, the Chaplain is already 3/3.


    Ransac, cpa trash man

Share This Page