Question # 235050

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Troll, Oct 18, 2005.

  1. Troll Dr. Satan

    My question is: I have a Vulturous Zombie (3/3; Whenever a card is put into an opponent's graveyard from anywhere, put a 1/1 counter on Vulturous Zombie) and my opponent tries to Lightning Bolt(3 damage to target) it. Does the damage resolve before the card goes into the graveyard or wouls it die?
  2. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    Hmm..... This is how I THINK it works...


    Lightning Bolt goes on the stack.
    Spell Resolves/L.B. goes to graveyard/Damage goes on Stack
    Counter ability goes on Stack
    Counter added
    Damage resolved/V.Z. survives (for now..... MWAHAHAHAHAHAHA)


    Ransac, cpa trash man
  3. Limited Yes, but we won't care

    I think it dies. When the Lightning Bolt resolves, the damage is applied and the spell is put into the graveyard. Statebased effects are checked (checking creatures for lethal damage), and then triggered abilities are put on the stack. The adding of the counter fails to resolve because the Vulturous Zombie is gone..

    Damage caused by spells or abilities is not put onto the stack twice..
  4. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    Curses! See what happens when I don't play the game anymore!!!!

    *Ransac beats a baseball bat into his head to gain knowledge.*


    Ransac, cpa trash man
  5. Troll Dr. Satan

    Thanks Limited. :)
  6. Limited Yes, but we won't care

    Sure thing..
  7. orgg Administrator

    Limited has it correct; the State Based Effects would see the three damage on three toughness and put the Zombie in the grave as a state based effect. Then the triggered ability would go on the stack as it has already triggered, but will fail to find the Zombie, thus no counters.

Share This Page