Protection from color

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by jcredberry, Aug 11, 2000.

  1. jcredberry Gochan Warlord

    If a player is playing with black and I have a creature that has "Protection from Black" can he block me??? Can he kill me with Terror??? Can he enchant this creature with anything black??? Can he use any black spell or ability to -X/-X to this creature???

    What can he do to kill this creature using unly black???
  2. rkoelsch Angel Boy

    Protection from a color or artifact has 3 sub groups
    1- all damage done by color is reduced to zero
    ie if you block a 4/4 green creature with a 2/2 PFG
    creature the 4 damage done to your creature is reduce
    to zero. If the green creature has trample he has to
    lethal damage, in this case 2, to the creature and the
    remainder(2) assigned to the player. The Green
    creatures controller could assign 2,3 or 4 points of
    damage to the FPG creature.

    2-Protection from color or artifact cannot be blocked by
    that color or artifacts.

    3-Creatures with protection cannot be target of spells or
    effects of the protected color. Global spells do not
    target specific creature. A Nightwing Glider cannot be
    terrored but a bog elemental can be wave of reckoning'd.
    The black player could save his creature if he had a
    Distorting lens and turned the Bog elemental white.

    4- Remove creature enchantments of the protected color
  3. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    Responding specifically to your questions...

    His black creatures can't block your creature.

    Terror can't target your creature.

    No black enchantments can target or otherwise be moved onto your creature.

    Yes. Any black spell which does not specifically target your creature, or deal damage to it, will be effective.
    Massacre would be one example; Engineered Plague would be another.
  4. jcredberry Gochan Warlord

    What if I have a Circle of Protection: White and my oponent casts a Disenchant against it, can I give protection to the circle against the Disenchant???
  5. Jaws10387 Hiding

    Tag Guard

    No. You can only protect yourself not enchantments or creatures.
  6. K1 New Member

    or any permanents for that matter.
  7. DÛke Memento Mori

    Story Circle, and any Cicle or Rune of Protection only protects it's caster; not the creatures, not the permenants, nothing, just the caster.

    Terror can't destory any black creatures, wheather that creature has protection from black or doesn't, Terror can't target black creatures. As a matter of fact, most black creature removal can't target black creatures.
  8. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    Strictly speaking, it's not the caster that the various circles, runes, and thingies protect; it's the controller.

    You can Steal Enchantments, ya know.

    *grumble*
  9. DÛke Memento Mori

    I know that, I didn't feel to explain.
  10. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

  11. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    He might be able to use Diabolic Edict to remove your pro-black creature, if it's the only one you control (or he gets rid of all your others by other means).
  12. Neo_Keo -=[I]=- []2ice |Voodles

    a creature wit Protection from has protection fron D-E-B-T

    D: Damage
    E: Enchantments
    B: Blocking
    T: Targeting

    Like spidey said there are other means of getting of a pro creature.

Share This Page