Pitchstone Wall and Balance

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Spiderman, Jun 20, 2002.

  1. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    If the Wall is one of the creatures to be sacrificed, can it still be used to get one of the discards from the hand? I'm thinking no, because it's not in play by the time it would trigger.

    If the Wall does remain in play after Balance resolves, it can get one of the discards back, correct?
  2. Jigglypuff Big Cute Pink Thing

    You're thinking correctly on both counts, Spidey.

    (- Steve -)
  3. EricBess Active Member

    Actually, almost right.

    The Pitchstone Wall actually does trigger. However, you can't sacrifice it because it isn't in play when the trigger resolves.

    So, right result, but a slight modification to the method of getting there.
  4. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    So even though it says you do each "step" at a time (lands, creatures, hand), the Wall can still trigger?
  5. EricBess Active Member

    Hmmm... I might have to research that one a bit, but I believe that the zone changing is all handled as a single event. In other words, the state "right before" the zone change was the state before any of the Balance resolved.

    I could be wrong on that though. I'll have to see what I can come up with.

Share This Page