Persist

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Rakarth, Dec 3, 2008.

  1. Rakarth New Member

    Quick Question before uni work consumes me, if I give say, Sage of Epityr (a 1/1 with CIP ability of look at top four cards of library and replace in any order) persist with Cauldron of Souls, and I sac it/kill it somehow, will it come back into play and it's ability trigger, then immediately die as a state-based effect? I'll still get the effect as the ability will trigger right? However he dies as soon as he comes into play, but the key is that he does come into play right?

    Rakarth
  2. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    I believe so, but better wait for a second opinion :)
  3. Mooseman Isengar Tussle

    Yes, since it had to CIP to die from SBE, the triggered ability will go on the stack after SBE are resolved.

    420.3. Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 408, “Timing of Spells and Abilities”), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based effects. All applicable effects resolve as a single event, then the check is repeated. Once no more state-based effects have been generated, triggered abilities go on the stack, and then the appropriate player gets priority.

Share This Page