old-school deck upgrades?

M

MonoBlack

Hey all.

I'm obviously new to the boards, but I'm posting this here instead of the Intro forum because of the attached decklists. Hope that's okay.

I started playing magic during the Legends expansion, and continued heavily for several years - until Mercadian Masks. I stopped altogether at some point during Nemesis after a period of light play. Since then, aside from an odd trade here and there to update a deck, I hadn't played the game for quite some time. A few friends and I have started to get back into MTG over the past couple of days after collectively realizing that we've all still got all of our cards and decks, and we intend to return to regular play.

As I was looking over some of the new sets and rules, I found, to my absolute horror, that the 1.5 (or "Legacy," I guess it is called now?) format now includes banned Necropotence, banned Demonic Tutor, and banned Demonic Consultation. These are cards that had previously been legal for years... can anyone tell me what is it that got them suddenly banned? I was never a fan of type 1 due to the $power nine$ (I played 1.5 and 2 in tournaments), but our casual games were generally played with the loosest possible ruleset - which is of course type 1. However, the fact that Necropotence and Demonic Consultation have also been restricted in type 1 (or "Vintage," right?) means that one of my favorite and oldest decks - one I've had in various forms since Ice Age originally came out - is no longer legal in any format. Ouch.