Not really a question, just a confirmation.

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Y The Alien, Jul 28, 2000.

  1. Y The Alien Deity

    Tag Guard

    My opponent has Land's Edge and Seismic Assault in play, and five cards in hand. He claims that by discarding the five cards, which are all land, that it will deal 20 damage to me, because it will trigger both cards. I know this is false, as both cards are activated abilities, and must be paid separatly. I just need someone to confirm this for me, preferably a judge, although I doubt this person would believe me if Richard Garfield came down and said it.
  2. Zadok001 CPA Founder, Greater Good

    Confirmed. No, I'm not a judge, I don't know if we have any 'round here. But you're right, no question asked.
  3. Apollo Bird Boy

    You're right.
  4. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    It'd probably be best to explain the difference between activated abilities and costs and triggered abilities or point him in the right direction for the rules (if he'd listen :))
  5. Mikeymike Captain Hiatus

    You're right, you discard a land to one or other, not both. If Land's Edge said "everytime a land goes to the graveyard...." then it would be a different story. But it doesn't.

Share This Page