Mirari and the stack...

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by kinghink, Feb 23, 2002.

  1. kinghink New Member

    OK, I have a question for you all involving how Mirari acts in reaction to the order of spells played.

    Here's the situation:

    I have a Mirari in play, and tons of mana (amount is not relevant, but it is enough)

    I cast a 1 pt Vocanic Eruption (3 mana spent) and Mirari is (3 mana)

    I cast Rewind (4 mana spent - untap 4 lands) and Mirari it (3 mana spent, untap 4 lands)

    So the stack thus far, all created by myself is as follows (first spell at top):

    Volcanic Eruption
    Volcanic Eruption (Mirari)
    Rewind
    Rewing (Mirari)

    What I want to know is, can I still duplicate the 1 pt Volcanic Eruption and if so, can I go back to the Rewind to produce a (seemingly) unlimited amount of mana?

    Does this make sense? I can try to explain it better again if necessary.

    Thanks.


    Mark
  2. Lotus Mox New Member

    Mirari's ability is a triggered ability, i.e. it triggers once for each sorcery or instant which is played, so your trick is not possible.

    Note that the copies Mirari puts on the stack don't count as played spells.
  3. terzarima New Member

    Plus... You don't untap lands as soon as you play the spell.
  4. kinghink New Member

    you're absolutely correct. I forgot that the spell has to resolve before I untap the lands.

    Yes, so the whole thing cannot possibly work.

    Thanks, yet again.


    Mark
  5. kinghink New Member

    Wait a sec :)

    Is it possible to "Mirari" the same spell more than once?

    A 4 pt. fireball and mirari it 2 more times, or is Mirari's use limited to only one duplication?

    Mark
  6. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    You can only do one duplication.

Share This Page