Mana burn

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Dune Echo, May 16, 2001.

1. Dune Echo CPA Founder, Idea Man

Okay, I have been under the impression since I started playing this game that mana burn was dealt at the end of your entire turn, i.e. the Clean up Step.

According to this, I can't tap my Llanowar Elf when it blocks during combat and use that mana to play something during my second main phase. Is this correct?!
  2. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

Correct.

Man, even 5th rules said you take mana burn at the end of "phases" back then. You must have been like me when I thought creatures only heal at the end of its controllers turn, not every turn :)
  3. Ransac CPA Trash Man

Hey, that's better than I was. When I started playing, I thought the damage my creatures were dealt ALWAYS stay unless you healed them with Healing Salve or something like that. I lost many a Craw Wurm to Mon's Goblin Raiders and such.

Ransac, cpa trash man
  4. Zadok001 CPA Founder, Greater Good

"According to this, I can't tap my Llanowar Elf when it blocks during combat and use that mana to play something during my second main phase. Is this correct?!"

Explain to me the exact process by which you blocked with your Llanowar and then proceeded to your main phase? :)
  5. linsivvi New Member

hey, this isn't the same question but it involves mana burn. Can mana burn be prevented or redirected (like with a pariah)
  6. EricBess Active Member

Combat is a phase which has mant steps. At the end of the combat phase, mana pool empties and mana burn happens.

The second main phase is a different phase.

Mana burn causes loss of life, not damage, so it cannot be prevented or redirected.
  7. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

Zadok: One scenario I see is blocking with the elf, know it's gonna die, so tap it for mana for use in the second main phase.
  8. Pokemorpher New Member