Hmmm....

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Hellion, Aug 19, 2000.

  1. Hellion New Member

    I have been wondering over this one....

    Some cards like Armageddon and Wildfire, are printed in Portal or Starter. Can these cards (which are also printed in various tourney legal sets), be played in a tourney deck too?

    Especially Starter, I read that it's illegal for tourney (as stated in WotC FAQ)

    Please enlighten me on this. Thanks.
  2. Gizmo Composite: 1860

    When it comes to tournament legality all that is important is the name of the card. If the card appears in any tournament legal set then all versions of that card, from all expansions are playable.

    For example Wildfire was printed in Portal, as you say, and you may play either the Saga or Portal versions of this card in tournaments.

    While it might say that starter is illegal, if a card appears in starter under the same name as it appears in a legal expansion you may play that card in a tournament (for instance, isn`t Rhox in Starter as well as Nemesis?).
  3. Hetemti The Wide-Awake Nightmare

    Portal and Portal II cards are tournament legal if and only if a card of the exact same name is legal in that tournament. The card text of the 'real' card applies.

    Portal III is illegal since all of the cards of that set have unique names, aside from basic lands.

    Portal IV (Starter) is not tournament legal at all. This is due to the fact that since each color (save red) has only 5 rares, it would cause an unfair overabundance of certain rares, such as Rhox and Thorn Elemental.
  4. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    Actually, Gizmo is right.
    As long as the card has the same name, and a standard Magic back (which excludes collector's editions, World Champ decks, et al) it is legal for tournament play.
  5. Erbrich New Member

    Gizmo is right. As long as the name is the same and it has a regular magic back, it works as the card of the same name in its current or original set.
    According to Beth Moursund(BethMo), the DCI Rules Team Manager:
    OTHER

    1) Starter cards that have the same name as a Magic card are DCI-legal in
    a tournament in which that Magic card is legal, just as with Portal cards.
    (And just as with Portal cards, the Starter card is played as if it had the
    Magic card's wording.) Starter cards that don't share their name with a
    Magic card aren't DCI-legal.

    In a case that the mana cost and/or rules text is not the same on the two cards, the Starter or Portal card is considered to read EXACTLY the same as its "expert" equivalent.

    Erb

Share This Page