Here's a killer...

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Istanbul, Jul 22, 2004.

  1. Istanbul Sucker MCs call me sire.

    I have Trinisphere and Feroz's Ban in play.
    I want to play a Goblin Sledder.
    Do I pay 2R (2 extra for a creature from the Ban, and I paid at least 3 mana)?
    Or do I pay 4R (At least 3, then 2 extra 'cause it's a creature)?
    Do I choose?
    Anyone know?
  2. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    I would hazard to guess that since both generate continuous effects, you go by the timestamp and apply the effects in order that they came into play to the Sledder. So if the Trinisphere came first, you'd pay 4R. If the Ban was in play first, you'd pay 2R.
  3. mythosx Legendary Creature-Human

    I'm fifty fifty on this. I think spider man is right. But the other half thinks you would have to pay the 4r.
  4. Oversoul The Tentacled One

    I'm guessing here, but I will say that Trinisphere doesn't "notice" the Ban and that you have to pay the extra costs from both...
  5. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Heh, everyone guessing so far. Where's our judges and definitive answer guys? ;)
  6. kriz_riktr Member

    The correct answer is that you pay 2R, regardless of the order that the Ban or the Trinisphere came into play.

    The effect of Trinisphere is always applied later than effects that raise or lower costs. This is because the Trinishpere effect actually cares about the amount of mana spent, it doesnÕt so much raise the cost as just makes sure you pay at least 3.
  7. Oversoul The Tentacled One

    Ah...

    So Ornithopter would cost 3...

    Llanowar Elves would cost 2G...

    And White Knight would cost 2WW...

    Right?
  8. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Wouldn't White Knight be 1WW?
  9. kriz_riktr Member

    You forgot about appliying the effect from Feroz's Ban. Because of that, it'll cost 2WW.
  10. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Oh, it adds 2 colorless. I didn't check it again.
  11. train The Wildcard!!!...

    Sucks to be a sliver Queen, or Cromat!...

    :rolleyes:
  12. Oversoul The Tentacled One

    Why them in particular?
  13. train The Wildcard!!!...

    you have to pay all 5 colors, and then 2 more... It's more feasible nowadays, but still a lot to do...

    (there's other 5-colors out there, but those came to mind first...)
  14. Oversoul The Tentacled One

    It sucks to be Polar Kraken or Leviathan too, in that case...

Share This Page