Cowardice

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by K1, Aug 18, 2000.

  1. K1 New Member

    A cowardice is in play, and a Tim pings a */1 creature. Does the creature go to the graveyard or return to hand? why?
  2. Adso_dMelk Abbot of Wooded Mountains

    what's a Tim?

    p.s. please excuse my ignorance
  3. BigBlue Magic Jones

    tim=prodigal sorcerer or one of his cousins. (old school term came about from Monty Python's search for the holy grail)

    and as for the question, the creature returns to the hand as soon as it is targeted, so not in play to recieve damage. Now a more interesting question is what happens if you target a skulking fugitive, "whenever skulking fugitive is the target of a spell or ability, sacrifice it." I believe the answer is it depends on whose turn it is in relation to the controller of the fugitive. I will research this though.
  4. Adso_dMelk Abbot of Wooded Mountains

    like BigBlue said... The */1 creature returns to your hand... and... Great question BigBlue. I'm waiting for your answer...

    p.s. thanx for your comment about tim. :D
  5. Duel Has Less Posts Than Spiderman

    King Arthur:What manner of man are you, that can summon fire without flint or tinder?

    Enchanter: There are those who call me.... Tim!
  6. Neo_Keo -=[I]=- []2ice |Voodles

    Very hard question too ponder I 'll be checking this post BigBlue for the answer

    On a seperate note Mothy Pythons Quest for the Holy Grail is greeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaat!!!
  7. Duel Has Less Posts Than Spiderman

    Heck yeah!
  8. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    Exactly right, BigBlue!
    The active player's ability will stack first, then the non-active player's. (APNAP is the way to remember this... Active Player then Non-Actice Player.)

    Here are the possibilities (assuming no other abilities get added to the stack in the interim):

    Your turn:

    Your Cowardice, Opponent's Fugitive:
    [*]Cowardice stacks, then Fugitive; Fugitive is sacrificed.

    Your Cowardice, Your Fugitive:
    [*]You choose the order.

    Opponent's Cowardice, Your Fugitive:
    [*]Fugitive stacks, then Cowardice; Fugitive is bounced.

    Opponent's Cowardice and Fugitive:
    [*]Opponent chooses the order.

    Opponent's turn (though you've probably figured it out by now):

    Your Cowardice, Opponent's Fugitive:
    [*]Fugitive stacks, then Cowardice; Fugitive is bounced.

    Your Cowardice, Your Fugitive:
    [*]You choose the order.

    Opponent's Cowardice, Your Fugitive:
    [*]Cowardice stacks, then Fugitive; Fugitive is sacrificed.

    Opponent's Cowardice and Fugitive:
    [*]Opponent chooses the order.

    Note that it doesn't matter who controls Tim, since its ability isn't going to resolve anyhow. :p
  9. Adso_dMelk Abbot of Wooded Mountains

    no comment :D

Share This Page