Combat Damage

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by WhiteMagic, Aug 29, 2000.

  1. WhiteMagic New Member

    I have a question about exactly what Combat Damage means. Is it the damage that is DONE during combat, or the amount TAKEN by a creature?

    For example, if I play a Pious Warrior (2/3, whenever Pious Warrior is dealt combat damage, you gain that much life), if PW is attacked by a 5/5 creature, would I get 3 life (the amount he TOOK), or 5 life (the amount GIVEN)?

    Thanks!
  2. rkoelsch Angel Boy

    unless the creature has trample then you get 3 life- 2 trample damage equals net gain of 1 life. You get whatever combat damage is assigned to your creature. I think they say combat to distinguish from other damage. If he took 2 from a shock you gain 0 life. it is not combat damage.
  3. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Assuming the 5/5 is non-trample, your Pious Warrior is GIVEN and TAKING 5 points of damage so that it drops to
    -2. There's not a difference the way WhiteMagic worded it.
  4. WhiteMagic New Member

    Thanks for the clarification!

    And Spiderman... SUPER cool signature file, I love that!
  5. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Heap all the praise to Griffith_se, she's the one that came up with it. ;)

Share This Page