Chimeric Idol

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Zupat, Jun 5, 2001.

  1. Zupat New Member

    1# Can I tap tapped lands for Idol to make it a creature?

    Example: I have 1 Idol out and 3 mountains. I play 3 shocks to my opponent so all my lands are tapped. Can I now use Idol's ability to make it a creature?

    2# Can I use Idol's ability in the same turn I casted it?

    Example: I have 4 lands out. I play an Idol which leaves me with 1 land open. Can I now use Idol's ability to make it a creature?
  2. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    1. The answer is Yes, although you're not tapping lands to make him a creature. Tapping lands is an effect that happens when the ability resolves. So when you make an Idol a creature, you tap every land that's currently untapped; you don't care about already tapped lands.

    2. Yes, you can make it a creature the same turn as cast but it is then subjected to non-haste (can't tap to attack) since it wasn't in play on your side at the beginning of your turn.
  3. maraud234 Sir Psycho Sexy

    Darn, I actually knew the answer to those questions, but somebody beat me to it. I'll just add this then, remember, chimeric idol doesn't count as a creature until you play it's ability.

Share This Page