Chimeric Idol, should it be errata-ed?

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Hellion, Jun 11, 2000.

1. Hellion New Member

Chimeric Idol
    Artifact
    Uncommon
    0: Tap all lands you control. Chimeric Idol becomes a 3/3 artifact creature until end of turn.

I'm pretty stumped by this card. Here are the following questions,

1. Does it need lands to tap as part of it's activation cost?
    2. If you do not control any lands, can u activate it into the creature?

I still do not believe that without lands, you can activate the Idol for beatdown. My friend told me that having no lands and tapping all lands are the same. I'm not a beginner but am very much confused by the wording.

I'd prefer if DCI errata it so it sounds clearer.

All thoughts and suggestions welcome and thanks in advance.
  2. mogg bomber Veteran CPA Lurker

You tap all your untapped lands when you activate it. If all your lands are already tapped, or if you have no lands, the activation cost is free.
  3. Hellion New Member

Wat? Even without lands you can activate it? That's so unfair! Why on earthy would they print such a monstrosity?

I don't think it would be banned but a errata would be nice, the thing is clearly broken!

If anybody is skeptial about this, imagine getting beatdown by it when you least expect it.
  4. Apollo Bird Boy

It would be broken if it cost 0 mana to cast. There's nothing wrong with it. If you can make a deck that works using the stupid thing to prove it's "broken," I'd like to see it.

Apollo
  5. Seeker of Truth New Member

Hellion:

I'm also wondering why you think this card is broken. If you have no lands, you'd be at a severe disadvantage (unless you played Armageddon or something), so activating Chimeric Idol without a drawback actually has a high price.