Another dumb question?

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Spiderman, Jan 9, 2003.

  1. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    When using the Mistform creatures effect of changing creature type, it's a continuous effect that modifies "incoming" creature types when they enter play, much like Crusade modifies P/T if you change a creature's color to white before it enters play, correct?
  2. kriz_riktr Member

    No, the Mistform ability as it exists on most creatures allows that creature to change its own creature type. For example Mistform Wall:

    Mistform Wall
    2U
    Creature -- Illusion Wall
    1/4
    (Walls can't attack.)
    1: Mistform Wall's type becomes the creature type of your choice until end of turn.

    All of the other Mistform creatureÕs abilities are like this as well with the exception of Mistform Mutant, which can target any creature in play.

    Mistform Mutant
    4UU
    Creature -- Illusion Mutant
    3/4
    1U: Choose a creature type other than Legend or Wall. Target creature's type becomes that type until end of turn.

    Neither of these abilities create Ôblanket effectsÕ that could possibly affect a creature as it comes into play. Either it is an ability that allows a creature to change its own type, in which case this ability wonÕt even exist until the creature is in play. Or it can target other creatures, but it wonÕt be able to target them until they are in play.

Share This Page