Ankward rules questions

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by jcredberry, Feb 21, 2003.

  1. jcredberry Gochan Warlord

    Hi...
    First: I have a creature enchanted with Pariah and my opponent enchant it with Treacherous Link... What happens when I receive damage??? An infinite cicle and a draw??? Or does it just iterate one time and I receive damage in the end????

    Second: What happens when two Oppalescence and a Humility are put into play via Replenish??? What's the effect on all enchantments???

    Thanx in advance...
  2. train The Wildcard!!!...

    Pariah
    All damage that would be dealt to you is dealt to enchanted creature instead.

    Treacherous Link
    All damage that would be dealt to enchanted creature is dealt to its controller instead.

    419.6a A replacement effect doesn’t invoke itself repeatedly and gets only one opportunity for each event.
    419.8b A replacement effect can become applicable to an event as the result of another replacement effect that modifies the event.
    Example: One effect reads, “For each 1 life you would gain, instead draw a card,” and another reads, “Instead of drawing a card, return target card from your graveyard to your hand.” Both effects combine (regardless of the order they came into play): Instead of gaining 1 life, the player puts a card from his or her graveyard into his or her hand.

    So I think it reads like this: All damage that would be dealt to you is dealt to enchanted creature's controller instead.
    So you basically take the damage...

    Now, for the Opalescence... Rune Horvik previously answered and below is the example of 1 opalescence and humility... if there were 2 I believe it still remains appropriate for the "depend" rule to determine the outcome...

    Since the opalescences make ench. into creatures, then the humility would turn them into 1/1's... so the order would be Opalescence effect, Opalescence effect, then humility effect...

    See the example below...

    Q: Opalescence makes Humility a 4/4 creature, then Humility makes all creatures (including itself) 1/1 creatures with no special abilities, meaning that it no longer has the ability to make all creatures 1/1 creatures, so it's a 4/4 again with the ability to make all creatures 1/1 and so on and so forth...

    The judges fixed that one. It depends on which card came into play first as to which card takes precedence. But Replenish, which will bring back both Humility and Opalescence, brings them into play at the same time. How do you deal with that one?

    A: When multiple permanents come into play at the same time, the active player sets their timestamps in the order he or she chooses, but whenever an effect would change the text or existence of another effect, the other effect is said to “depend” upon the first. In this case, the rules say that the first effect must always be applied first when calculating the results.

    Since the Opalescence creates creatures that Humility can change, you apply the Opalescence effect first, turning all enchantments into creatures, then Humility changes everything to 1/1 “blank” creatures, including itself. It’s a bit weird, but that’s how the rules work. Rule 418.5 in the Comprehensive Rulebook has more information on this topic.
  3. Nightstalkers Creature — Nightstalker

    another stupid question...

    whats a beeble??? and what does bouncing beebles do???
  4. train The Wildcard!!!...

    Beebles are simply backwards Elbeebs... And so, They function as such..

    According to the SQR(Stupid Question Rulebook)... Whenever an Elbeeb comes into play from anywhere, all players must take all their clothes off and complete the game in the nude.

    this was okay for a while... until some left-wing conservative magic player refused to do so and argued their constitutional rights...
    The DCI head judge threw out the case, but so as to not hold up tourneys for longer than 8 years, they implemented errata making the Elbeebs, Beebles... And since an Elbeeb made you take your clothes off, a Beeble would make you put them on... but since this is not an issue(as most players' clothes are already on)... the rules text on Beebles is not necessary... and they essentially just become another creature type in the Blue portion of the color wheel...

    If for some reason a player is not playing with their clothes on... sideboard in the beebles and make sure to show them the SQR so they know they have to put their clothes on when one comes into play...

    According to SQFR(Stupid Question Floor Rules) XXX.1X: It's a Warning, then game loss, then match loss, if they refuse... It could even go as fas as DQ without prizes, or even suspension/banning from the DCI... and DCI sanctioned tourneys...;)

    And bouncing beebles make people put their clothes on while bouncing...
  5. Nightstalkers Creature — Nightstalker

    Stupid Question Rulebook??? then whats a sliver in there???
  6. BigBlue Magic Jones

    A small piece of wood or metal which gets under your skin and is extremely painful. There are rumors of other types of slivers, yet none have been seen.

    So, when a player plays a sliver, the other players all get out needles and nailclippers and attempt to dig the sliver out of the offending players skin. In the case of very large slivers, you need to use hedge clippers.

Share This Page