About Worship...

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by fuzzy510, Jan 4, 2001.

  1. fuzzy510 I Don't REALLY Exist

    I have in play Worship and Llanowar Elves, and am at 4 life. My opponent has an untapped Weatherseed Treefolk, and attacks. I block with Llanowar Elves. Am I dead?
  2. Ransac CPA Trash Man

    No.
    Here's how it works.
    Elf blocks.
    Damage is assigned, including trample.
    You take 4, the elf takes 1, the treefolk takes one.

    When damages resolves, you take the damage AND the elf leaves play, but, when damage occured, the elf was in play. THEREFORE, you could not go below 1 at that point.


    Ransac, cpa trash man
  3. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    The reason why is that Worship's ability is a replacement ability (note the word "instead" int he Oracle text_.

    So you have an event that goes, "Deal 1 damage to Elves, and 4 damage to fuzzy.

    When the damage is about to be applied, since the 4 damage would reduce you to less than 1 life, the event is replaced by a new one: "Deal one damage to Elf, and *reduce fuzzy's life total to 1*."

    The Oracle text:

    *(Technically, it's "...deal n-1 damage to fuzzy, where n is fuzzy's life total." But I'm trying to keep it simple.;)--CT)
  4. rkoelsch Angel Boy

    but why would you block?
  5. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    I assume it was one of those "let's just suppose" questions...
  6. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Never question the motives of the questioner :)
  7. fuzzy510 I Don't REALLY Exist

    Damn Straight Spidey! NEVER QUESTION FUZZY!!!!!!!
  8. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    Why not?

    (oops)
  9. Duel Has Less Posts Than Spiderman

    Ahh, I love fuzzy logic.

Share This Page