About Split cards and Meddleing Mage...

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by PTQ, Aug 2, 2001.

  1. PTQ New Member

    What are the interactions here?

    Does each half count as a card as far as M.Mage is concerned? Could I, for the sake of this question, say "Spite" and still play "Malice"?

    Thanks.
  2. rkoelsch Angel Boy

    I think the answer is no.

    K.24.6 - If asked to name a card , a split card's full name includes all of its names. For example, if someone names Wax/Wane, it affects the card, but someone naming just Wax or just Wane would not be naming the card.
    [Invasion FAQ 00/10/03]

    Meddling mage; As ~this~ comes into play, name a nonland card . ; The named card can't be played.
  3. Jake74 King of Worthless Trivia

    RK is right... split cards are named both of their halves so Wax/Wane is just that - Wax/Wane... so you name the whole card when you play the Mage... it stops both sides of the card.
    You can't just say Wax or Wane...
  4. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    If someone does foolishly name (for example) "Wax" for Meddling Mage, go ahead and play the Wax half of Wax/Wane. "Wax" is not the name of any Magic card and would be unaffected by Meddling Mage.
  5. rkoelsch Angel Boy

    Chaos Turtle- is there too many late nights or have you developed a mean streak:D Naughty Naughty
  6. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    I get edgy this time of the month. :p

Share This Page