Aaaagh! Mental Breakdown imminent!!

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Landkiller, Oct 30, 2000.

  1. Landkiller CPA Menace

    The situation.

    I have a False Prophet and an Attrition. I have 1 untapped swamp.

    My opponent has a Wall of Blossoms, a Morphling, an untapped plains and an untapped island.

    Morphling attacks.

    I sacrifice False Prophet to attrition. Are there any legal targets for the ability, and if not, what happens? Since the sacrifice is part of the cost of the ability, False Prophet may be in my graveyard and there may be no creatures in play.

    In response, my opponent attempts Swords to Plowshares on my Prophet.

    Is this possible?

    Really confused.
  2. Gizmo Composite: 1860

    erm...

    You can do it (sac the Prophet to Attrition)
    Your opponent can`t do it (kill the Prohpet in response)

    It goes like this:

    Announce using Attrition
    Name targets for Attrition
    Pay costs for Attrition (inc saccing Prophet)
    Put False Prophet onto the stack
    Opponent gains priority
    Resolve False Prophet
    Put Attrition onto the stack
    Opponent gains priority
    Resolve Attrition

    I think.
  3. Spiderman CPA Man in Tights, Dopey Administrative Assistant

    Announce using Attrition
    Attrition goes on stack
    Name targets for Attrition
    Pay costs for Attrition (inc saccing Prophet)
    Put False Prophet onto the stack
    You still have priority until you pass
    Opponent gains priority until he passes
    Resolve False Prophet
    Active player (you) gain priority until pass
    Opponent gains priority until pass
    Resolve Attrition

    Changes in bold.

    Basically, Attrition goes on the stack first because it's the first ability. False Prophet's ability triggers when it goes to the graveyard and is added to the end.

    You have legal targets when using Attrition, but by the time it actually resolves it will fizzle due to False Prophet's ability resolving first (assuming no other business is going on).

    Hope this help! (and is correct :))
  4. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    Well done, Spiderman!

    When announcing a spell/ability, putting it on the stack is always the very first thing you do. Otherwise it would be impossible for a permanent to target itself with it's own ability, if the cost involved removing it from play somehow.
  5. Baskil CPA Member

    I thought you play the cost before announcing the target?
  6. Chaos Turtle Demiurgic CPA Member, Admin Assistant

    Nope.
    Paying the cost is actually the very last thing you do.

    Imagine some situation where you simply must have your Seal of Cleansing gone (say, there's a creature in play that deals 1 damage to you for each enchantment you control or something, whatever) with no other artifacts or enchantments in play.

    You simply target the Seal of Cleansing with its own ability.

    If you had to pay the cost (saccing it) before choosing targets, it wouldn't be possible, since the Seal would be gone by that time.

    FYI: The order you announce spells/abilities (simple version)
    1. Announce it and put it on the stack.
    2. Choose mode, if the spell/ability is modal (i.e. says, "Choose one-").
    3. Choose the value of X in the cost.
    4. Choose the target(s).
    5. Choose how each target will be affected (if they will be affected differently).
    6. Pay all the costs.
      [/list=1]

      If an any time during this process the targets are determined to be illegal (or nonexistent) or if you are unable to pay all the costs, stop the process and remove the spell/ability from the stack.

Share This Page