A Stupid Question!

Discussion in 'Rules Questions' started by Killer Joe, May 11, 2003.

  1. Killer Joe Active Member

    Is an "Enchant Creature" card considered a permanant when it's in play?
  2. kriz_riktr Member

    Yes all enchantments when in play are permanents.
  3. Nightstalkers Creature — Nightstalker

    K.19 - Permanents
    K.19.1 - A permanent is a card or token which is "in play" (see Rule Z.5).
    [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 214.1]
    K.19.2 - The initial type and subtype of a permanent are listed in the
    middle of its card (if it is a card) or in the spell or ability that
    created the token (if it is a token). [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 214.2]
    K.19.3 - A given permanent may be one (or more than one) of the following
    types: Land, Creature, Artifact, and Enchantment.
    [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 214.1]
    K.19.4 - A permanent may also have a sub-type. Creatures have a creature
    type, lands have a land type, and local enchantments have an enchantment
    subtype. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 212.2]
    K.19.5 - Spells which are to become permanents are put into play at the end
    of the resolution of that spell. See Rule T.6.9. [CompRules 1999/04/23]
    K.19.6 - If a card leaves play, it is no longer a permanent. It is just a
    card. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 214.3]
    K.19.Ruling.1 - When in play, a permanent is no longer considered to be a
    spell, so it cannot be affected by things which target spells. For
    example, a counterspell cannot be used on a creature in play.
    [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 214.3]
    K.19.Ruling.2 - You do not need to keep paying the cost of a permanent which
    is in play (unless a card tells you otherwise). [D'Angelo 1998/02/03]
    K.19.Ruling.3 - Once in play, a permanent stays in play until something
    specifically removes it. You cannot get rid of a permanent just because
    you want to. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 214.1]
    Note - Also see Changing a Permanent's Type, Rule K.5.
    Note - Also see Creature Type, Rule K.11.
    Note - Also see Land Type, Rule K.16.
  4. BigBlue Magic Jones

    Or....

    If it is in play then it is a permanent.

    Anything not in play, is not a permanent, not when it's on the stack, in your hand, library, graveyard, removed from game, or any other zone which is not in play.

    Sorceries and Instants are never in play.
  5. Nightstalkers Creature — Nightstalker

    K.19.Ruling.3 - Once in play, a permanent stays in play until something
    specifically removes it. You cannot get rid of a permanent just because
    you want to. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 214.1]


    Newbes want to go against this ruling all of the time

Share This Page